We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloucester Inn by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Rochester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Everything - location, pool, condition of the room and the motel overall was perfect! 10 min walk from Good Harbor Beach saves $20 parking fee. Gloucester is about 5-10 min drive. The water was cold in the ocean, so I walked back to the hotel and went right to the pool - the water was great, pool was very clean - like everything else in this place, and views - oh, just check my pictures. One of them was taken while I was lying in bed, did not even had to get up! The stuff is very nice to talk to, always smiley and ready to help. I would recommend this inn to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreenMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    16
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was a perfect location to enjoy Gloucester, Mass & it's surrounding villages. The room was spotless & beautifully decorated. The view of the ocean right outside our windows was phenomenal. The staff was warm, welcoming & helpful. The fresh Nantucket coffee enjoyed each morning on the deck was a magnificent way to start each day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaisgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

WOW! From the view of the ocean to a staff at this place everything was exceptional. A friend and I visited Gloucester for 3 days and it was hard to break away from the Inn since it has it all. The staff was on top of the customer service game. Just ask and it's immediately done. If it's time to relax this is the place. I will suggest this place to anyone who wants an wonderful stay in Gloucster Ma.

Room Tip: Much traffic on the deck but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We arrived at this absolutely charming Inn on Sept. 22, 2013. One never knows what to expect from pictures on the net .....whether or not the scenes are accurate or not! Well, the scenes do not depict the absolute majestic view from our room and that fabulous deck. Yes, the pictures are wonderful but the view is even more incredibly beautiful. Our room was tastefully decorated and we loved the antique chairs that were even comfortable to sit on. We also cannot say enough about the owner, Liz. She went out of her way to make our stay quite memorable.....we felt more like part of her family. Her staff is outstanding and deserves accolades for professionalism above and beyond. We most definately will stay at the Gloucester Inn by the Sea on our next trip to Cape Ann. The experience was delightful in that we met other travelers and enjoyed our conversations while relaxing on that beautiful deck enjoying the sunshine...........enjoying our medicinal cocktails....enjoying the ambiance....enjoying the sounds from the sea and the winds blowing through our hair. And we will not forget the image of the earth's moon shining brightly down upon us as evening came around. Thank you Liz and staff for making our stay a beautiful, memorable event. We definately will see you again............soon! Patricia and Vincent

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean but #3 has a panoramic view. Our room was #3! Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laticia586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We are from Michigan and this was our fifth time coming to this beautiful Inn. When we stepped out of room, the view of the ocean was incredible. There is a beautiful large porch with several groupings of furniture- We totally relaxed. There are several different choices of rooms- each one is decorated a little differently. Very clean. The staff, especially Kathy, was wonderful- showed us the rooms that were available, and did every thing she possibly could to make our stay perfect. The owners take very good care of the Inn. We love it and can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlohaHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
281 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and it was wonderful. The views of the ocean are incredible, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and spacious. There's a large veranda with several groupings of wicker furniture so we ate a picnic lunch while enjoying the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had a great time. Rooms are so charming. Staff is delightful. Will go back exit summer. Beautiful ocean view great pool area. We Re elks so right down the street from one of the best lodges in the country

Room Tip: All rooms are quaint. No closets just pegs sp pack hangers if you like to hang
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat100958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.9 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Inn by the Sea

Property: Gloucester Inn by the Sea
Address: 85 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4331
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Gloucester Inn By The Sea Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing