We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different and really enjoyable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Babson Court
Ranked #9 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a great time here! See my room comments which I think are separate from this paragraph.
The owners were happy to spend time talking in the morning and you may have to drag yourself away from the many entertaining stories. Right across the street from walkable shoreline and easy to walk into town and enjoy wharves, restaurants, historic houses, lovely neighborhoods, etc. I walked for a very enjoyable 2 hours on a summer's evening. Many, many varied restaurant styles and prices within a half-mile. Loved the character of the place, not the same-old thing or too cutesy. Ample parking out back. Plenty clean as far as we could see and that's a heck of a job with the quirky spaces filled with objects and plants and on and on. Ask to see all the rooms if possible, just for the entertainment (we did, being the last to leave that day). If you realize its an Inn and not a B&B, then the muffins/cereal/coffee set up is standard. They made every effort to reach us when we were very late in our arrival to tell us where the key would be. Not inexpensive, that's for sure, but for high season (July) and the location, expectable and a lovely treat.

Room Tip: We got tours of all the suites. Each one is unique & highly decorated. The two upstairs suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 40somethingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was a perfect stay.An intimate hotel facing Gloucester Harbor. Run by wonderful friendly owners who have decorated to the Nth degree. One bedroom or a sweet of two rooms, each with its own bathroom. Quality posh decor with elaborate furnishings and textiles. Very clean, accessibie to walking the harbor on the causeway out front. Ample parking and walk to downtown along the causeway fronting the water, benches to relax near shops, restaurants and stores. Eating overlooking the working fishing boats of Gloucester. Also a nearby park facing the harbor and distant lighthouse entering the breakwater to the atlantic ocean.Clearly a gem I Will return. Rent a bike nearby, do the town and turn do side streets & other roads into east gloucester and the mansions, one of the best places for bicycling in the U.S.....easy terrain...and go back on the other road facing the atlantic ocean and pounding surf. It's also a good walk, no hills for the walker or exerciser, interesting all the way round.

Room Tip: Just ask for a view but it doesn't matter...it's all so picturesque and beautiful. Rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softwear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

As many reviewers point out, this house has a very interesting interior design, which is well coordinated in its details. The owner loves mirrors and hidden doors, and all other interior details are matched with great taste. Particularly charming are the exposed roof beams in the two upstairs suites (Cut Stevens and William Friend). These suites offer considerably more space than a traditional hotel room.
In this sense, one could really feel at home at the Inn at Babson Court.
However, our well-being has been clouded by things that are absolutely not in order for a well-run house. What is meant here are poor housekeeping and various dirty items.
Since guests are not served breakfast but have to prepare it themselves in the room, there is a small kitchenette with dishes and a coffee maker, some portions of coffee, tea bags, small packets of cereals and a fridge containing milk and juices. In addition to this, every morning you find a little basket with one muffin per person outside your door. In total quite a poor breakfast.
This is more like a self catering accommodation: no one cleans the room or makes the beds, only the dirty breakfast dishes are replaced by clean ones.
Now the deficiencies: When we arrived, the kitchen cabinet contained only glasses, large flat plates (one was dirty), knives and forks. Were we suppose to drink coffee from glasses and spoon cornflakes from the flat plate with a fork? And what should I do with a tea bag? When I asked the owner, he answered: make the tea in the microwave.
The microwave however was so dirty that we had to clean it before we could put something into it. The fridge was not quite clean inside and the coffeemaker too had to be wiped out before use. In the bathroom dust bunnies had accumulated on the radiator and the plastic shower curtain had stains of old soap. The toilet brush just lay on the floor, next to the toilet, without a container.
The closet (only two coat hangers for two people) was filled with an old, discarded electric heater and some old pillows with stains. Of course I had to wipe out the drawers too before placing our shirts into them.

The owner of the house always responded when you spoke to him - whether in reference to a lack of crockery or any other topic of conversation - with a very peculiar sense of humor - sometimes we would have preferred a normal conversation.
When, upon departure, I mentioned the deficiencies in the housekeeping, he tried to excuse this with personal problems of his domestic help.
So all in all: this is a house that has been furnished and decorated in a very interesting and charming style many years ago. This interior design seems to be very important to the owner. Not equally important to him however, seem to be cleanliness and care for a reasonably functioning room. What a pity!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Violine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We discovered the elegant "Inn at Babson court" by chance when looking for somewhere to stay in Gloucester. Our room was large and had a great sea view, wonderfully decorated in a unique fashion, really enjoyed the stay. There were only two of us but there was also a mezzanine floor with 2 small beds which would be ideal for kids. The zebra sheets on the large king size bed will hint at the style! Paul and Paul were wonderful hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and the Muffin Bunny also did a great job. If you get a chance to stay here take it, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the sea front "Samuel Stevens suite" but I am sure the other rooms will be equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Absolutely loved The Inn at Babson Court. Other viewers have said it well. Paul, the owner is a very interesting, pleasant host willing to help make your stay a great one. We as well as another viewer had the room on the ground floor (with the leopard sheets and monkey end tables). The bed was a tad on the hard side...however, we both slept very well in this room. Some viewers mentioned the traffic noise...we were at The Babson Sept. 23rd - 26th and noise of any sort was non-existent. Our refrigerator was well stocked with juice, water and milk. Small cereal boxes were available as well as muffins, coffee and tea....we preferred to go out for breakfast and there was good choices just steps or a short walk away from the Inn. I did not bring my "white gloves" on this trip; however, I always travel with my own cleaning solution and a cloth, I'm not obsessive but I'm also not lax....staying healthy is important to us. I cannot say enough about the location....if you like to walk...this is the spot, right across the street from the ocean -- a very popular walking area and just down from The Man at the Wheel statue. Many restaurants within walking distance....lots of choice. We also needed to use the WiFi and there were no problems with this. All in all....we would recommend The Inn at Babson Court.

Room Tip: We chose the room downstairs as we preferred the shower over the room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalianRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Notice how many reviewers use the word 'quirky'? Don't go here if you insist on cleanliness, fresh paint, matching decor, or a great free breakfast. But if you like leopard print sheets, monkey end tables, cornflakes in a box, a voluble and fascinating host, and a perfect Gloucester location, by all means stay at the Inn at Babson Court.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms. All equally quirky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were looking for a room and stumbled upon the Inn. They didn't have any rooms but Paul made a few calls and found us one up the hill. What we saw was very quaint and for Paul to be so nice to someone not even staying with them is a rarity. I would definitely stay there in the future just for the atmosphere!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SanAntonioGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.2 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Castle Manor Inn
The Castle Manor Inn
#4 of 17 in Gloucester
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.9 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Babson Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Babson Court

Address: 55 Western Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-3647
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing