We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overflow hotel for our wedding”
Review of Wingaersheek Motel

Wingaersheek Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wingaersheek Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
alethia1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overflow hotel for our wedding”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We used this venue as the overflow hotel for our wedding, as it was located quite near to our venue. Overall, it was fine, and the location (<1 mile to our venue) was fabulous. However, our guests found it slightly price-y, and adequate and good, but nothing special, and quite near to the highway with rooms that were adequate. A note to wedding couples: read the fine print on the contract for the wedding special. We ended up filling 8 of their rooms (well over our contracted number to receive our 300$ deposit back) but we did not fill those 8 rooms six weeks before the wedding, which was our contracted date to fill rooms by. The management was completely unwilling to discuss with us any type of reimbursement (complete, partial, or room credit) for over-meeting our contracted number of rooms, but later than the date specified in the contract. As they had open rooms even the day before the wedding (when our last friends booked the last room at the last minute), we don't feel our wedding block financially impacted them, and our deposit certainly helped them! Ie - if you're a wedding couple I wouldn't expect to get your deposit back once you make it - which we understood from a letter-of-the-law perspective, but certainly left a bad impression of this venue from our perspective. In our whole wedding process, this is the only piece of it we were even slightly displeased with. Ie - it's fine for a wedding overflow hotel, and certainly incredibly convenient, but don't expect much more than that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alethia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    15
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had a wedding nearby and didn't book quickly enough to stay next the main wedding party. This was the overflow hotel. Our suite was neat a clean -- and as a bonus had a gigantic whirlpool tub that my kids loved. But it was threadworn.

The motel is located right next to 128, which is convenient, but it can be noisy. I got woken by a motorcycle zipping by.

My only significant complaint is that it was a pricey given its location and its newness.

Room Tip: back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

As one person said, they have a very clever photographer.
We stayed in Suite 11. It was nice, clean, bright. The photo of the room shows a private deck and when you ask, they'll tell you it "looks out onto our side yard and fire pit area". That is a far stretch of the imagination. In reality, the "private deck" looks out onto the parking lot. If you sit at the far end of the deck, they have a bench set up facing the direction of the side yard.
But for the cleanliness, I'd stay there again if I could get the same room.

Room Tip: We 1st asked about a less $ room, but it was booked. They offered us the larger, more $ room for alm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Erie, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We attended the Wingaersheek Motel over the Memorial Day weekend. There was 4 of us and we got the one bedroom suite with a pull out couch and a day bed. We received a bit of a frosty reception from management. (We also had on the phone the day before when we had tried calling several times and never got a return phone call. When we finally reached them the next day and expressed shock over the lack of the return call we were simply told "we took the day off") We were intially surprised to see how close to the highway the hotel is - the bedroom window faced onto the interstate. Very loud traffic! The room was ok but the pull out couch was ancient with the cushions be very tattered. It was uncomfortable to sleep on. A party was booked in the room below us and they were very loud every night. The four of us barely slept. A complaint was made to management and they said there was nothing they could do about guests making noise. What??? Our last night there these guests were out partying until the wee hours and were frequently honking their horn. Management was very unsypathetic and did not seem to care. Another room was complaining when we checked out and management gave them the same response we got - can't do anything about it. I wouldn't recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loonsgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catonsville, Maryland, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2010

On our honeymoon we had such a hard time finding a good place to stay within our budget. This place was the nicest we have ever encountered. Super clean room, a comfy bed, fireplace, whirlpool, cathedral ceiling with a skylight along with the hardwood floors. For now on when we go north this is going to be our first stop along the way. The front desk is a pleasure and I want to thank you, again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedpox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

stayed @ wingaersheek motel with a number of family members fro a wedding we were attending. this is an older property with very small basic rooms. the "motel" style rooms were really more like bungalow rooms - frankly, my living room is bigger, and it's not all that big. the bathrooms were small and desperately needed updating - never fun to feel the linoleum sticking to your feet because it's no longer adhered to the floor as it should be. rooms were also in serious need of repainting, many scuffs & scratches throughout, and the ceilings were also quite dated. those who stayed in the upgraded "suites" were more satisfied as they did have some more room to spread out, but still these rooms looked as though they hadn't been updated in quite some time. overall not the greatest place to stay, unfortunately this area doesn't have any name brand hotels so it's alot of hit & miss, but wingaersheek is not the way to go - i would have preferred a motel 6 honestly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larryb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed in some wonderful places during our trip to New England, but the Wingaersheek is my favorite. It feels more like a bed & breakfast than a motel. It's sparkling clean and totally quiet. The proprietors are wonderful. We were a little early for the main season and the motel wasn't full, so they upgraded us from a room to the cottage (#9) at no additional charge. The cottage is so nice, I will pay the extra money to stay there when we go back. It has a kitchenette, cathedral ceiling, and small deck on the back. We opened the windows, turned on the ceiling fan, and enjoyed the breezes - no need to run the A/C. In the middle of the night, we saw a deer outside the window in the moonlight - magical!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicLover67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
4.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingaersheek Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingaersheek Motel

Property: Wingaersheek Motel
Address: 46 Concord St, Gloucester, MA 01930-2306
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Wingaersheek Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing