We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean !”
Review of Wingaersheek Motel

Wingaersheek Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wingaersheek Motel
Ranked #14 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We stayed at this motel for four nights. We were traveling with a motorcycle and a F350 truck. The owners were very nice about us parking the bike under the eaves in front of our room. And by the way, there is a campsite down the road about a mile to drive the bike off the bed of the truck ( also nice people). The room was small BUT VERY CLEAN !!!! And that says alot to me. Clean towels daily! And plenty of them. It was easy to get to downtown and all the attractions. I recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolene0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2008

We stayed here last night after having dinner locally - the owners were extremely gracious and the room was spotless. It was an affordable, clean, quick overnight accomodation for us and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank myjezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

I stayed here one night by myself. The room was nicely appointed with a kitchen. It was a well run place, and they get you discounted access to the local beach (normally a $25 access fee!!). The whole area is crowded in, with twisty confusing roads, but this place seemed like a little oasis. Signage nearby gets you back to the motel, even if you get lost, like I did. The restaurant recommendations in the room info packet are spot-on.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tooluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

We stayed at the Wingaersheek Motel for two nights this summer, when driving back from Maine to Boston during a trip to New England. We were expecting just a nicer than average motel, but we were pleasantly surprised. It is a lovely place, with nice furniture and really clean. It shows that the owners take really good care of it. Our room was pristine with nice touches. During our trip in New England we stayed in some quite expensive bed and breakfasts and inns, and I must say they do not compare to the Wingaersheek Motel which is half the price.

Although it is just off the motorway it is really quiet and you don't hear anyy traffic noise. The beach (which is very nice and good for children) is a short drive away and the owners give you a pass that entitles you to a 10 dollars discount (quite good since the full price is $25!) There are many restaurants nearby: we went to the "Lobsta Shack" just around the corner for a brilliant breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

For two previous summers me, my wife, and our now 4 year old son stayed in Gloucester at a motel right on the ocean, and we loved it. But we also paid for the location as well. This year, in an attempt to reduce costs so we could stay in Gloucester longer, we tried the Wingaersheek Inn and Motel. We were not disappointed by our new choice. In fact, we prefer it to the ocean-front motel. The owners were incredibly hospitable and accommodating. They were very knowledgable about local restaurants (we wanted to try a few new ones), and they provided reduced-price passes for the local beaches. The rooms (we split our stay among two rooms) were great. The two twin bed room was very small, with a small (no tub). However, the room was quaint and immaculate. It would be perfect for a couple. Room 14, however, was incredibly spacious with a main sleeping area, large bathroom with a HUGE jacuzzi tub, wet bar, and sitting room. It also had many windows to let the cool evening breeze in; if you didn't want to use the air conditioner. The room's decor was very original and had the feel of a bed and breakfast (not a standard motel room). The Wingaersheek Inn and Motel is conveniently located 5 minutes from Wingaersheek Beach (although we prefer Good Harbor Beach a thousand times more). It is close to Gloucester, Essex, and Manchester-by-the-Sea. We HIGHLY recommend the Wingaersheek Inn and Motel. For the price, the hospitality, and the location, you can't do any better in the Gloucester area. After our first trip to Gloucester in 2005 we decided to make it our annual family vacation spot. Now we plan to make the Wingaersheek Inn and Motel our annual place to stay.

Gary Thomas Smith

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GTSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

Many years ago, this place was truly a "motel": small, sparce and non-descript rooms more geared toward those who needed a place to crash for the night rather than a place to enjoy as part of your vacation. Now, the place is great! I'ev stayed in their new rooms, which are spacious, clean, cozy, and their old rooms. They've done an excellent job renovating the original "motel" rooms, which are small, but clean, decorated very well, and comfortable. The surpising thing is how quiet the rooms are -- the Inn is right off of the 128 freeway, and one would think the noise would be deafening, particularly in the summer, but somehow the Inn stays well shielded. We've stayed there 2 years in a row, visiting relatives, and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights. The accommodations were wonderful. I was the only member of a large wedding party to stay here. The rest of the party was jealous when they saw my room and the great rate in comparison to their rooms elsewhere. I will stay here again when I return to the area. The Gloucester relatives will recommend the Wingaersheek over their previous recommendation, I am sure.
It was a pleasant surprize.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alaskatraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
3.6 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
416 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
96 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Castle Manor Inn
The Castle Manor Inn
#4 of 17 in Gloucester
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
4 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingaersheek Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingaersheek Motel

Address: 46 Concord St, Gloucester, MA 01930-2306
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Wingaersheek Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing