We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little find”
Review of Wingaersheek Motel

Wingaersheek Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wingaersheek Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice little find”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Easy to find off the highway. I was given a better room than I booked, so a nice surprise - room 11. The accommodation was very clean and tidy. Everything you need to cook a meal is supplied - cutlery and crockery, comfy bed, hot shower, hairdryer and wifi, so good value. Only thing I will make comment on, was the initial welcome, was a little on the frosty side comparing it to the other reviews I had read but accommodating with my questions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband & I along with a couple of friends stayed here for 2 nights recently. The owners were wonderful and very helpful with helping us navigating the area. The beds were very comfy and the rooms were very clean. It is in quite a good location as far as proximity to the places that we wanted to see. We all agree that we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QBY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had saved extra money for our family trip over several years to go this time. We are husband and wife with three children, ranging in age from 11 to 24. We have stayed at several places in Gloucester past 23 yrs.but, this time we decided to choose somewhere else to accommodate our older children. Our choice of stay and reservation were based upon pics and service/ and location and separate rooms via internet here. Reservations and room avail. were right on target for us.The phone calls made to them before-hand, were polite, and answered most of our Q's. We were excited for our trip. Everything,(except the mattresses) the rooms, the service, cleanliness, and mini-kitchen, and bath,were lovely.The previous postings here, had to be before we stayed here, as almost everything has been recently remodeled new. HOWEVER, the only things that were NOT replaced ( AND SHOULD/ HAVE TO BE ) are the bed mattresses! The fold-out couch mattress, and single bed in the living room too. I say "mattresses" however, I use that term loosely, as when we took a closer look under the thin pad, each "mattress" turned out to be very, very used springs with a very thin cotton padding atop, on every bed and couch. They are not "mattresses" at all. They all felt like sleeping on a hard rock, sadly. We stayed for several nights, regrettably - (we had pre-payed and non-refundable). We looked around town for air- mattresses to take back to the rooms, but there were none. We chose to have to use the extra thin room pillows and place them under each of our backs, so we could at least sleep a bit. It did not work well though. Unless, all the mattresses are replaced with at-least four-star ones, we will NOT be coming to stay again. With the ocean air, all the doors are squeaky and are in desperate need of oil- as they awoke everyone going to bathroom and such. Although a tad more pricey, we HAD thought the rooms were going to be larger, but the pics via internet are taken at an angel - so we were slightly cramped. We were in room #10 (2Fl.) The gas fireplace was nice as was the semi-stocked kitchen - which was a very welcoming surprise. All we had to bring was food, which we expected of course.Everything was exceptionally clean in both rooms and bath and kitchen stocked with pots, pans, eating utensils etc. packets,ofcoffee,tea,powered creamer, sugar and coffee maker and microwave (no oven) and a mini-fridge, we stocked well w/ a mini freezer for breakfast treats. New paint and decor was very nice. Almost everything you'll need is supplied, from an pressing iron to hair dryer. If the mattresses HAD been replaced, with top-notch ones, we WOULD of surely given Wingaersheek a five star. We also wanted to note, the owners greeted us a very nice farewell upon our leaving.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay anywhere in this hotel/Inn - Bring your OWN air mattresses and pillows !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank l c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMPA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in their cabin style (#11) room and found it to be spacious, clean, comfortable, well stocked and perfect for our week in the area. The staff was extremely personable and gracious. The directions provided were clear and concise and the rate was extremely reasonable. We will definitely visit there again!

Room Tip: Room 11 offered a view of the woods on the back porch and was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alethia1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We used this venue as the overflow hotel for our wedding, as it was located quite near to our venue. Overall, it was fine, and the location (<1 mile to our venue) was fabulous. However, our guests found it slightly price-y, and adequate and good, but nothing special, and quite near to the highway with rooms that were adequate. A note to wedding couples: read the fine print on the contract for the wedding special. We ended up filling 8 of their rooms (well over our contracted number to receive our 300$ deposit back) but we did not fill those 8 rooms six weeks before the wedding, which was our contracted date to fill rooms by. The management was completely unwilling to discuss with us any type of reimbursement (complete, partial, or room credit) for over-meeting our contracted number of rooms, but later than the date specified in the contract. As they had open rooms even the day before the wedding (when our last friends booked the last room at the last minute), we don't feel our wedding block financially impacted them, and our deposit certainly helped them! Ie - if you're a wedding couple I wouldn't expect to get your deposit back once you make it - which we understood from a letter-of-the-law perspective, but certainly left a bad impression of this venue from our perspective. In our whole wedding process, this is the only piece of it we were even slightly displeased with. Ie - it's fine for a wedding overflow hotel, and certainly incredibly convenient, but don't expect much more than that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alethia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had a wedding nearby and didn't book quickly enough to stay next the main wedding party. This was the overflow hotel. Our suite was neat a clean -- and as a bonus had a gigantic whirlpool tub that my kids loved. But it was threadworn.

The motel is located right next to 128, which is convenient, but it can be noisy. I got woken by a motorcycle zipping by.

My only significant complaint is that it was a pricey given its location and its newness.

Room Tip: back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

As one person said, they have a very clever photographer.
We stayed in Suite 11. It was nice, clean, bright. The photo of the room shows a private deck and when you ask, they'll tell you it "looks out onto our side yard and fire pit area". That is a far stretch of the imagination. In reality, the "private deck" looks out onto the parking lot. If you sit at the far end of the deck, they have a bench set up facing the direction of the side yard.
But for the cleanliness, I'd stay there again if I could get the same room.

Room Tip: We 1st asked about a less $ room, but it was booked. They offered us the larger, more $ room for alm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
176 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Castle Manor Inn
The Castle Manor Inn
#3 of 17 in Gloucester
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingaersheek Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingaersheek Motel

Property: Wingaersheek Motel
Address: 46 Concord St, Gloucester, MA 01930-2306
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Wingaersheek Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing