We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved It & Will Be Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Captain's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Captain's Lodge
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Rockport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Loved It & Will Be Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband, our Basset Hound & I stayed at Captain's Lodge July & August and liked the whole stay there. We stayed there last year for the same amount of time and all of the staff was great. We really don't like to be catered to and prefer being alone. We had an effeciency with fridge, stove and microwave & everything worked properly. I have no complaints at all. The pool is nice and clean and we could open the front & back doors to get a good breeze.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    13
    14
    27
See reviews for
23
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Excellent location. Quiet clean rooms. Great service. Will stay here again next year on my vacation

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoliveira522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
612 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Friends booked this motel for a group whale watching, kayaking weekend. I had read the reviews prior to our stay, thanks to tripadvisor, I was prepared and not surprised.
First the positive: Warm, clean, welcoming pool in a sunny location. Pet friendly. Two minute drive to town. Can walk to Dunkin Donuts, grocery store. Air-conditioner worked great. Rooms have a front door and a back door for cross ventilation that really came in handy for the negative issues: Very musty rooms. Room smelled of mold and tobacco. If you are a smoker, it may be worth requesting a non-smoking room and smoke outside. We do not smoke and there were no non-smoking rooms available. We had all the sheets, blankets and comforter changed, aired out the room and it helped a little. The motel kept running out of towels and no towels are provided pool side. One morning a had to use my hand towel to dry off. Our friends room was not cleaned for two days and they were not given any clean towels. This occurred the second day even after we reported this to the owner the first day the room was not cleaned. The mattress was old and slanted to the middle. The entire motel needs an overhaul, new everything is needed.
Amenities are basic. TV, air-conditioner, bed. No blow drier, no iron, no closet or hooks to hang clothing. Some rooms had frig. and microwave but friend said the microwave did not work.The on-site coffee shop was closed and no tea or coffee is offered by the front desk. Sadly I cannot recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Reading Pa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were going fishing in the area and a few of us guys needed a place to flop the night before. We didn't need a fancy place as it wasn't necessary but I'd never take a family or my wife there for a vacation. We got 2 rooms and both were musty and smelled we opend up the few windows they had started the AC and went out to eat. Knowing what we were coming back to we each had an extra drink to numb the senses some. The motel was dated and needed a complete redo in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTHammer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I did not expect this motel to be paradise, but I was still extremely disappointed with my stay. The room smelled very old and musty, sheets and blankets had visible stains, and everything was completely outdated. The woman at the front desk was helpful, but when I accidentally lost my room key the night of my stay and noone was in the office, I was directed by a sign giving me a room number to knock on so that someone could let me in. When the door opened, I was met by a very rude man smoking a cigarette in my face, complaining that he did not get "paid enough to do this s**t" and he unhappily opened my door for me. Gloucester is a beautiful town, enjoy it and stay anywhere other than this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gabber29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

First let me start out by saying that if you are a princess, keep looking. But Dad, age 90, and I found it fine. We've stayed at better and we certainly have stayed at worst! The price was more than fair and the owner was visible during our whole stay doing what needed to be done to improve this older motel. We needed a lightbulb and an extra towel and we were served immediately. The beds were very comfortable, the water was plenty hot, the environment was quiet. The TV wasn't very good with very few channels and the weather channel had poor reception. There was a large piece of property with a tennis court and clean inviting pool but we did not use them. We were in a perfect location (just a few miles from Rockport) to continue our trip along the coast of Cape Ann. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the Captain's Lodge Motel for one night and found it to be clean but very old and worn. There was an overpowering smell of room freshener and disinfectant. The AC worked just fine which was a key factor in our staying there because it was 100 degrees that day in Gloucester. The owner was very nice to us and reduced the price of the room because it was a smoking room. The TV was quite old with no remote control and the room had not been updated in 20 or more years. We slept soundly but were relieved to be on our way the next morning. Perhaps the nonsmoking rooms are more appealing but we were creeped out by our accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cattlegirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Lodge

Property: The Captain's Lodge
Address: 237 Eastern Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-1897
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Captain's Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Captain's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing