We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Captain's Lodge
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed overnight here. Read all the terrible reviews but it was the only room left in Gloucester for under $300. Since it was just one night, we gave it a chance. It def needs upgrading which should be a cheap do. Needs new carpeting and mattresses. Has a nice pool area. In it's day, this was nice. It is a basic room. No frills at all. I saw no bugs, felt safe, and was close to the things I wanted to do. But for an extended stay, I would make a different choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolene0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We picked this place for the price - and knew going into it there wouldn't be anything fancy. The room was large, with really high ceilings. I felt like it was probably a very popular hotel 30 or 40 years ago - but hasn't been updated since then. The bathroom was clean and it included a bottle opener on the door frame! (Haha.) However, the towels were small and everything was a bit run down, overall. They did have a little pool, which we didn't use; but, seemed nice enough if you had kids wanting to swim somewhere other than the ocean. It was very basic - just a "one-star resort" - and I've definitely stayed in worse!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I would not stay here. The place had a musty smell when we walked in. There were burn holes in the carpet from previous smokers. This means the carpet has been down for a long time. The shower curtain had mold on it. When I see places like this, I always wonder if there are clean sheets on the bed. The bed was very hard, this should have been a quarter of the price

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sewerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The most affordable in Gloucester, especially when they give you a beach pass to waive the $15 parking at Good Harbor. It's your basic hotel, and with a lot of the old fixtures of the past. It isn't updated and it may annoy those who are used to chain hotels. In my experiences (4x!) it has always been clean, stocked, and just your average hotel. You arent going to find a flat screen television but your basic needs are met. May want to stay somewhere else if you'll be in it a lot. Good for a couple days on the sand though.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

it was clean, to many people live here. there was no coffee maker. nor was there any available in the office. the only ice was in the office which was a long walk from our room and closed at 10:00 leaving nobody to call when the residents were still out and being quite noisy at 11:30,

Room Tip: for a good room go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank obillom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is one of the friendliest motels around. The people at the front desk are amazing to work with, very polite and caring. And take time to understand what you want during your visit. The rooms have improved alot over the years. I'm happy to say I will be coming back here !!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Marissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This place is so dirty the beds smell like mold the walls dirty and hind the beds ... No service no wifi don't let them fool you that it works because it doesn't and the phones suck the bathrooms are so old and the tubs are worn out and chipped!!!!
I can't believe they are still in business !!!! When I stated going there it wasn't too bad but the old staff was embezzling money from the motel then they changed to this staff and they are rude and could care less about your accommodation :"(
I was so disappointed I asked for a refund or I would report them to the health bureau since I know friends in Gloucester
So they did !!!
They live like farmers doesn't I have to as well ... They need to rebuild and refurnish every room because they smell mold and old ....


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Labby101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
2 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
269 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
0.6 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Lodge

Address: 237 Eastern Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-1897
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £62 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Captain's Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Captain's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing