We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy Just Good Food and Local Atmosphere”
Review of Charlie's Place

Charlie's Place
Ranked #15 of 138 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Akron
Level Contributor
220 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy Just Good Food and Local Atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Vacation trip to Rockport, Mass. We stopped at a grocery store to pick up some snacks. Asked the checkout clerk for some local places to eat. She recommended Charlie's which was a short drive around the corner.

Busy place with the locals. We now know why. Good food. Fried shrimp was worth the trip alone.

Service efficient and friendly. Nice menu selection and prices were competitive with the area.

Only made it there once too many other places to try. But certainly would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IEBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    64
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mims florida
Level Contributor
803 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
“good local fish restaurant”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After our whalewatch we were recommended by locals to this Fish Diner, and we were not disappointed. Lobster Bisque . and Fish and Chips Dinner were good value, Batter was light. Children's portions huge. Quick service. Shame no wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Family Favorite”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Homies frequent this restaurant regularly - this outta be enough to recommend a fish restaurant in a fish town. Though it's "Charlie's" today, locals can tell you all the names that this restaurant has gone by in generations past, but what hasn't changed is the quality of the cooking and the friendly service. My favorites are the fisherman's platter with sweet potato fries, though I did once venture to try the excellent cheeks, which occasionally appear on the specials menu. This is where we take visitors who want a taste of fresh fish in a no-frills atmosphere. It's also a great place to go after a day at the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun Local Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This diner is frequented by the locals. The place was hopping, people were having a great time, and we felt very welcome. The only downside is that they do not serve beer or wine. Even so, we enjoyed the meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll outside of Maine”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

If you're just looking for great seafood & good service I would highly Recomend this coffee shop style restaurant . The lobster roll was served on a grilled bun with very little mayo and your choice of reg fries, sweet potato fries or slaw. All were excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pleilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's Place also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Charlie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing