We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Food Kicked Up & Out Of The Park”
Review of Stones Pub

Stones Pub
Ranked #42 of 138 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Unionville, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pub Food Kicked Up & Out Of The Park”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stone's Pub is a great LITTLE hole in the wall kind of place you'd go with people wanting a FUN night with great food. Don't be looking for a quiet, romantic evening 'cause this is Competetive Sport People Central- vocal fans! Back to the food. Their version of burgers, come very hungry. THEY ARE HUGE, juicy, made to order served on an Italian roll, fries and a world class slaw(made on-site). The Muffuletta is Stone's take on the classic, arriving panini style. The all important olive salad inside -outstanding. Also on the recommend list is the Rueben, order with an ice cold Wachusett Blueberry beer and,well, people will know you are very pleased! Do not make the mistake of pre-judging this beer, it's really very good and you really wouldn't know it was blueberry except for the name. The pairing with Stone's food couldn't be more perfect. Go with friends, eat, have fun- you'll feel better than when you wlked in!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vic v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real pub”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I came upon this place walking with my husband in Gloucester. We were looking at the menu and the owner was sweeping inside getting ready for that night. He invited us in to look at the pub and showed us the menu; comfort food and homemade desserts. He was friendly, the place looked like the pubs I frequented in Europe and menu looked good.

About a month later we decided to give it a go. I had the homemade Mac and cheese with their pulled pork topping it (copied from the local guy next to me). It was "slap your mama good"!!!!!! The wings were great and the crowd was just as friendly as the owner. We had a couple beers and the best time. Oh, I also had their homemade carrot cake. Wow, double slap! Excellent pub.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darsaw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small pub w/great food”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Nice people working here very small pub with great food. Ordered 2 Fishermans IPA's, server recommended saving with a pitcher if we were having more than 1 thank you! Wife had a lobster roll, lob- sauteed in butter w/basil she judged way better than with mayo.Of course super fresh. I had Warrens Request a great sandwich which the owner said was added to the menu because no one could remember what was on it. Try it you'll like it!
No wait for a seat Sunday of St Peters Fiesta (a little way up Main St. from the festivities)
greasy pole event off Pavillion Beach....you'll have to Google that!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Irish flair”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My parents live in Gloucester and took us here to dine one night. They were greeted by first name and shown to a nice booth at the back. The food is definitely yummy.

Terrific service! Everyone is so friendly; you can tell they take pride in all they do. They love sharing their drink concoctions and innovative maccaroon desserts.

I look forward to returning on our next trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great local pub with terrific food!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Great local pub. The five cheese Mac & Cheese w/bacon was real, homemade comfort food. Rich, thick and very good. My 17 year old son had the Ruben w/ apple & onion sauerkraut. The sauerkraut is made on site. It was served on pumpernickel made by the bakery down the street. He inhaled it. Our waiter was professional and friendly. When asked, he was happy to explain the house specialties. His suggestions were perfect. The Chocolate Mint Mousse Pie was worth the calories.
This little place was a great find!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CamNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stones Pub also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Stones Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing