We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Castle!”
Review of Hammond Castle

Hammond Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.00*
and up
Gloucester Harbor Cruise with Brunch and Live Jazz
More Info
US$139.00*
and up
Gloucester Harbor Cruise with Lobster Bake
Ranked #3 of 56 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Medieval-style castle built by inventor John Hays Hammond.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting Castle!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are in the area, definitely visit this place! The owner/builder was very thoughtful when laying out the place. There are lots of neat secrets and hideaways. There are free tours on the hour. I highly recommend taking the tour as they offer a lot of insights to the castle. Without the tour, it would have just been a nice "castle". The tour, however, shows you all the secrets and thoughts that went into creating this place.

The view from this place is AMAZING!!! The setting is gorgeous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lazygirl2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    120
    35
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Re-visit While showing friends around Cape Ann”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Re-tracing old places to show friends around Cape Ann. Hammond Castle is a worthwhile stop to peer into the past of and a little insight into a well known local figure.

My last visit was in the 70's to attend an organ concert in the Great Hall - wonderful but a little sad to now know those concerts are no longer conducted due to the condition of the pipe organ.

Check out this place - a little bit of history you'll enjoy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chetzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downsville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Neat Place to Visit”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Really great scenic views, and interesting architecture. We did not take the tour, but would like to next time we're there. Price for tour ($10) seemed reasonable, we just didn't have the time that day. Lots to see outside for free, and got some beautiful photos.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank debodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curwensville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lacking Tour Guides - Amazing Home”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Children 6-10 $8, adults $10. You by tickets in the small gift shop but I wasn't given any advise. There is a room where you can watch a video about the home and owner. Only by luck did I get a pre-hired tour guide and gathered a lot more information. Without it you will be looking at a lot of things and have no history behind it. You can walk the grounds and see where John Hammond is buried. You may wish to call ahead to make sure a guide is working on that day. If they don't wish to hire help then they should consider programed headphones.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SpiritsOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle on a Beautiful Coastline”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I visited this castle today as I was intrigued to see little medieval architecture in a not so medieval area. To start off with, the neighborhood in which the castle is nested is nice enough just to drive through. The castle itself sits on a cliff along the coast of Gloucester and has amazing views of the city and the bay. The exterior of it is just what you would expect of a castle and yet still so neat to see here stateside. The structure is simply awe-inspiring.

The interior is also a fun trip into the life of the Hammond family. It was neat to see all of the artifacts they had collected, and even used in the making of the house, with some of it dating back to the 12th century! A particular highlight of the interior is the Great Hall, that definitely reminds you of walking into a giant cathedral. If you are ever in Gloucester, this castle is definitely worth a stop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chiefwahoo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hammond Castle also viewed

 

Been to Hammond Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing