We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Halloween Outing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hammond Castle

Hammond Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.00*
and up
Gloucester Harbor Cruise with Brunch and Live Jazz
Ranked #4 of 52 things to do in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Medieval-style castle built by inventor John Hays Hammond.
Andalusia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Halloween Outing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

We purchased tickets last October during their Halloween time to tour castle. Met plenty of friendly people while riding the bus over and really enjoyed the castle at nightime!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    108
    33
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We went for a Thursday night candle light tour of Hammond Castle. First, it's not really by candle light. Consider it more a dimmed lighting tour. The tour was limited and we didn't get to see the whole house, however, they do let you return the next day for free to see the house in the day time. Our tour guide was very energetic and knowlegable. He was very excited about the topic and spoke well. This house is very interesting inside and it's well preserved. The gift shop is very limited to medievil objects and would have preferred some more reading material. In all, I highly suggest visiting this unique house.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelEZinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Went at dusk. The castle and grounds are stunning. Breathtaking views, and beautiful flowers. Wished we could have gone on the candlelight tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Depends on your age and art appreciation!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

As a 40+ something, I really love Hammond Castle. It's very cool and I love the narrow winding staircases, the art, the tapestries, Hammond's collections...the overall feel of the castle. My 11-year old was less than impressed. She just passed through the rooms without really appreciating the art or the awe of some of the rooms. She thought the pool was cool, and the bedroom overlooking the pool/courtyard, but overall it was a bust for her, unfortunately. (I tried! I try to promote art appreciation!) We both thought the castle and grounds right on the ocean were beautiful, but I think I should have waited to take her until she was a bit older. I really like it, but families with tweens may want to think about it. Luckily it's only $10 adults/$8 children, so I wasn't out too much. I really like it, but I'm only giving it 3 stars for tween-interest.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doogle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great time! Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We recently visited the Hammond castle after just driving by it. I would highly recommend if you go to listen to the tour provided. I learned so many interesting facts and information about the castle and the owner and liked how the tutorial was personalized with stories versus just facts and dates. I don't think I would have enjoyed as much if I was just touring on my own.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hammond Castle also viewed

 

Been to Hammond Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing