We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, perfect view for North Shore visit”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect view for North Shore visit”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We traveled with our two-year old and stayed in an efficiency unit. The room and location was perfect for us all; we walked to Good Harbor Beach, took a short a car ride to Rockport and Gloucester, and had a gorgeous view from the balcony. The facility is clean, well kept and had everything we needed for a great stay to the region. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachTraveler33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    137
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
132
156
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I have been staying at the Vista since the 1970's, and it only gets better and better. It is family-friendly, as well as great for couples. We were there last July with family from MN, with children 18 y.o. to 9 y.o. They accomodated all of them, and my husband and I,in a nearby room, so we could be close, and the kids could go back and forth, safely and freely. The pool was a thrill for the kids, and, that Good Harbor Beach is right nearby, makes this a fabulous place for families. We could walk to the beach, while sadly, many other people never got onto the beach because it was so crowded! The owners and their staff, were helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean, linens were very good, and breakfast just right for families...plenty to go around. We have stayed there in winter time as well...everything was just as nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberts338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint MI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Clean. Well-eqipped. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice view. .
Quiet . Nice continental breakfast. What else could you want??

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanrice33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

so much fun! both the grown up and the kids wanted more time at the Vista.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather04633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I haven't stayed in an old fashioned American Motel for a while, but this was a perfectly renovated one, with the added bonus of stunning views (at least from our room), and a pool.

The room included a microwave, fridge, and hot rings too, and everything was incredibly clean.

The included breakfast was basic, but fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here last year during Fiesta and decided to stay again. The Vista is always consistent, clean and comfortable. Love the balcony overlooking Good Harbor Beach and the pool. This was the first time we used the pool and the water was delightfully warm.
Can't wait to stay again next year!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nasst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The staff were wonderful and offered me an upgrade as soon as I entered the office. The rooms were spacious, the views beautiful, the decor tasteful and so many towels!!! Not to mention there are two big shops for food swim needs for the beach and a store to buy wine... its all there within a 5 minute walk.. SO EASYI intend to visit again with my sons to swim in the pool and relax once more. I think this motel is great, 10 out of 10!!
Melanie sawyer, a seasoned traveler,
Brooklyn, New York

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelanieSawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
3.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing