We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definate thumbs up”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definate thumbs up”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Excellent choice. Family of 5 in their larger deluxe room. (they also have efficiency rooms with full kitchens). Very clean. All staff, from the electrician to the front desk personal were extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent view. Excellent pool. Excellent value. Excellent choice for accommodations. Can not say enough for this place!

Room Tip: Have only stayed in the deluxe room with the view of Good Harbor Beach - excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdefilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    139
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
139
160
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marcellus, New York
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We just got back from a long weekend on Cape Ann, having stayed in a few different hotels/motels. This was far and away our favorite, and the only one of the three we'd return to, honestly. If only the weather had cooperated, it would have been perfect!

The entire motel was extremely well-kept, from landscaping to walkways to the interior and exterior of the buildings themselves. We stayed in a very clean, spacious room with two queen beds, on the second floor with its own carport underneath. The carport was wonderful to have as the weather was pretty awful during our visit. We were able to load and unload the vehicle without getting soaked.

The room itself was, as others have noted, dated - it had wood paneling, green carpet and a very retro restroom. However, it was absolutely spotless - very well-kept and not at all rundown despite its obvious age. The pool area was very well-kept and the pool was quite warm (our kids enjoyed it in the rain, determined little things that they are. Breakfast, while a bit spartan, was served in a very clean room with what would have been great outdoor seating if not for the rain. One big bonus were the board games available for guests to use. They were located in the breakfast room and on our rainy day "beach day" those things were an absolute lifesaver!

The location was absolutely ideal (if only the weather had cooperated). We did manage to return to nearby Good Harbor Beach later in our visit to the area and would highly recommend it as well. Being able to walk there from this motel would have been ideal. I was VERY impressed that the offer was made to allow us to leave our vehicle on check-out day (not in the carport, but in an open space) if we wanted to enjoy the beach and/or pool for the day. How many places do that?!

I cannot recommend this motel highly enough. We were happy with every single aspect of our visit (except, of course, the weather!).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I conducted a very lengthy/obsessive review of hotels/motels in the Gloucester area when planning a long weekend for my husband and myself and our two young sons (5 and 1). All the reviews here pointed me to the Vista and we went with it. The actual accomodations met/exceeded our expectations, everything was spotlessly clean, the staff was surpremely friendly and helpful, the location was ideal (easy walk to the beach/coffee shop/groceries) and the view from our room was beautiful.

This motel definitely has that "retro" (read: dated) feel to it, but the carpeting in our room was new and there was an HD flat-panel TV, not that we used it much with all of the activities in the area.....plus there is free wi-fi and a nice albeit basic continental breakfast provided daily with a neat outdoor dining area. The pool area was great. I will note that if you have VERY small children who are adventurous (like our 1 year old!), be careful if you get an efficiency room on the 2nd floor as the railings on the balconies are set wide enough apart that they could squeeze through - we just left the screen door closed and were ok, but I thought I would mention that.

All in all, we were definitely happy with our decision to stay here and will most certainly book again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarringtonFamily802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We have been coming to the Vista for 37 yrs & had the greatest time ever. This place is like being close to heaven. Laura & Gary are the best hosts. Everyone makes you feel welcome. We loved the upgrades & that the pool was a little warmer. Our 94 yr old Mom
says she needs to stay healthy so she can come "back home." We love you !!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiling4unow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tivoli, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Even though I read the positive reviews, I was still very pleasantly surprised. The room was really clean and comfortable and the staff was excellent. Rates reasonable, too! Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiesays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We traveled with our two-year old and stayed in an efficiency unit. The room and location was perfect for us all; we walked to Good Harbor Beach, took a short a car ride to Rockport and Gloucester, and had a gorgeous view from the balcony. The facility is clean, well kept and had everything we needed for a great stay to the region. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachTraveler33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I have been staying at the Vista since the 1970's, and it only gets better and better. It is family-friendly, as well as great for couples. We were there last July with family from MN, with children 18 y.o. to 9 y.o. They accomodated all of them, and my husband and I,in a nearby room, so we could be close, and the kids could go back and forth, safely and freely. The pool was a thrill for the kids, and, that Good Harbor Beach is right nearby, makes this a fabulous place for families. We could walk to the beach, while sadly, many other people never got onto the beach because it was so crowded! The owners and their staff, were helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean, linens were very good, and breakfast just right for families...plenty to go around. We have stayed there in winter time as well...everything was just as nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberts338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
388 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
203 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.1 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing