We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but not as great as all the ratings we read”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed on two beautiful days following Hurricane Irene and spent little time in the room, which was on the 2nd level. The room was immaculate, but dark (wood paneled), with two comfortable double beds.

Showers were a problem with hot water arriving just as you toweled off.

The view was great during the day but at night there were lights galore and over our nice porch. We like fresh air and with the slider open direct light keeps you awake and ruins the view.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast baked goods were tasty. If you have the discipline there is fruit and cereal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastongray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

This was my first time staying at the Vista Motel and enjoyed it very much. As I brought 4 grandkids with me it was the perfect place for a family getaway. I rented a delux room with 2 queen beds and was spacious enough to even add a rollaway cart. Came with a small fridge and microwave. Room was spotless with plenty of towels and although a little outdated we still enjoyed our stay here. We had a nice little balcony where you could look out to Good Harbour Beach. One of the staff (Priscilla )couldn't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. She went out of her way to help you with any and all questions you had and always with a smile on her face. Thanks Priscilla-we appreciated your help:). We also had a free continental breakfast with fresh fruit, cereal, coffee etc. The outdoor pool was also spotless. Would return next year with the family!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Excellent choice. Family of 5 in their larger deluxe room. (they also have efficiency rooms with full kitchens). Very clean. All staff, from the electrician to the front desk personal were extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent view. Excellent pool. Excellent value. Excellent choice for accommodations. Can not say enough for this place!

Room Tip: Have only stayed in the deluxe room with the view of Good Harbor Beach - excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdefilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We just got back from a long weekend on Cape Ann, having stayed in a few different hotels/motels. This was far and away our favorite, and the only one of the three we'd return to, honestly. If only the weather had cooperated, it would have been perfect!

The entire motel was extremely well-kept, from landscaping to walkways to the interior and exterior of the buildings themselves. We stayed in a very clean, spacious room with two queen beds, on the second floor with its own carport underneath. The carport was wonderful to have as the weather was pretty awful during our visit. We were able to load and unload the vehicle without getting soaked.

The room itself was, as others have noted, dated - it had wood paneling, green carpet and a very retro restroom. However, it was absolutely spotless - very well-kept and not at all rundown despite its obvious age. The pool area was very well-kept and the pool was quite warm (our kids enjoyed it in the rain, determined little things that they are. Breakfast, while a bit spartan, was served in a very clean room with what would have been great outdoor seating if not for the rain. One big bonus were the board games available for guests to use. They were located in the breakfast room and on our rainy day "beach day" those things were an absolute lifesaver!

The location was absolutely ideal (if only the weather had cooperated). We did manage to return to nearby Good Harbor Beach later in our visit to the area and would highly recommend it as well. Being able to walk there from this motel would have been ideal. I was VERY impressed that the offer was made to allow us to leave our vehicle on check-out day (not in the carport, but in an open space) if we wanted to enjoy the beach and/or pool for the day. How many places do that?!

I cannot recommend this motel highly enough. We were happy with every single aspect of our visit (except, of course, the weather!).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I conducted a very lengthy/obsessive review of hotels/motels in the Gloucester area when planning a long weekend for my husband and myself and our two young sons (5 and 1). All the reviews here pointed me to the Vista and we went with it. The actual accomodations met/exceeded our expectations, everything was spotlessly clean, the staff was surpremely friendly and helpful, the location was ideal (easy walk to the beach/coffee shop/groceries) and the view from our room was beautiful.

This motel definitely has that "retro" (read: dated) feel to it, but the carpeting in our room was new and there was an HD flat-panel TV, not that we used it much with all of the activities in the area.....plus there is free wi-fi and a nice albeit basic continental breakfast provided daily with a neat outdoor dining area. The pool area was great. I will note that if you have VERY small children who are adventurous (like our 1 year old!), be careful if you get an efficiency room on the 2nd floor as the railings on the balconies are set wide enough apart that they could squeeze through - we just left the screen door closed and were ok, but I thought I would mention that.

All in all, we were definitely happy with our decision to stay here and will most certainly book again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarringtonFamily802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We have been coming to the Vista for 37 yrs & had the greatest time ever. This place is like being close to heaven. Laura & Gary are the best hosts. Everyone makes you feel welcome. We loved the upgrades & that the pool was a little warmer. Our 94 yr old Mom
says she needs to stay healthy so she can come "back home." We love you !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiling4unow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Even though I read the positive reviews, I was still very pleasantly surprised. The room was really clean and comfortable and the staff was excellent. Rates reasonable, too! Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiesays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
1 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
3 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £87 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing