We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Everything"”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Gloucester, Mass. was on our list of places to see, and so glad because we were able to enjoy The Vista. Lovely location and view of ocean. Our room had a very nice decor, comfortable and clean with great view of the bay. We loved our quaint outdoor patio. The staff and front desk were absolutely wonderful; very helpful, curtious and accomodating. Ice was available at the front desk but very plentiful. Customer satisfaction is highly valued. The pool area was very enjoyable,relaxing and clean.The continental breakfast was delicious. Excellent coffee! . Much attention is given to simple yet classy detail in all aspects of The Vista. Less than a 10 min. drive to restaurants and shops. We decided to stay in Gloucester a second night but only if we could stay at The Vista.. and we did. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuliana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Vista Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent one night at the Vista Motel. I wish we had more time there. The motel was clean and the staff was very nice. The view from our room was amazing. We sat on our porch and looked out at the ocean. It was so beautiful. They served a continental breakfast in the morning. We sat outside and once again looked at the beautiful ocean. The pool was closed because the season was over but the pool area was very nice. We are planning on going back to spend more time there. Each room has an assigned parking spot so there is no worry about find a parking place if you get back to the room late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a porch that faces the ocean
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mib2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Overnight stay enroute to New Hampshire and Vermont. Gloucester and Cape Ann were unexpectedly scenic (our guidebook led us to expect gritty rather than pretty). The room was spacious and clean and the balcony had a fantastic view over the Bay. If you have heavy luggage be sure to request a ground floor room as no ramps / lifts. No restaurants in immediate walking distance but short drive / taxi ride into Gloucester.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I honeymooned in Gloucester in 1979 and have been going there for the last 19 years. This was our first stay at the Vista, but definitely not our last. The room was large, airy and comfortable with a small but not to small refrigerator. WiFi was easy, TV selection for the evening was great. The continental breakfast was very enjoyable with extended hours over chain hotels. The staff was the friendliest we have ever run into in Gloucester. We will be back.

Room Tip: We just had the one room, but they all seemed to offer great views of Good Harbor Beach
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Vista Motel is located in Gloucester, MA, a beautiful city. It's located across from Good
Harbor Beach and is a very walkable distance from two shopping and grocery areas and restaurants. The rooms are kept very clean and the rates quite reasonable but better off-season! The staff is very friendly and local. I'm from Gloucester and everyone knows each other which is quite welcoming. I wholly recommend staying there. I go every year!

Room Tip: A great place for the older traveller. There is a pool and they serve a continental breakfast. In...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I went here for a weekend getaway with my boyfriend. We only stayed one night, but I had a pleasant experience. They were able to book me for just one night despite the 2 night minimum rule. The hotel staff was very nice and gave me helpful ideas on what to do for an evening in Gloucester. The view over Good Harbor Beach was just unbeatable, Good Harbor Beach has been one of my favorite beaches in the whole world so to be in walking distance was awesome. The continental breakfast was very nice. If I had one thing I could say could be improved, the matress in our room wasn't entirely comfortable. A little hard. But really this was only minor and it wouldn't deter me from staying again at all. All in all this was an awesome stay and as I do go back to Gloucester every once in awhile, I will be sure to stay at the Vista.

Room Tip: really all of the rooms have great views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here 9/21-9/23 for our first time visiting Gloucester. This hotel is a 3 star hotel. The rooms were clean and up-kept daily by friendly staff. The bathrooms were slightly outdated, had no lock on the door, but had good water pressure in the shower. The beds were comfortable. We got the medium priced rooms, and you could see the ocean from the balcony. I highly recommend driving across to the beach and taking a stroll on the beach, it was one of the highlights of our trips! The beach is dog friendly after September 15th and there must have been 30 people walking their dogs. The hotel is dog friendly always. While the breakfast was continental it was DELICIOUS. It was the best continental breakfast I have ever had. The breads and muffins are delivered fresh daily and kept warm. There is an attentive breakfast lady always there refreshing things. The blueberry muffins were outstanding and I kept going back for more. They also had out salami, cheese, crackers, cereals, a variety of teas, a nice coffee station, and orange and cranberry juice. The only thing missing was bagels but the muffins surely made up for it. The front desk staff was helpful. They have free ice which was nice to fill our cooler up. The pool looked very clean but we did not swim. We didn't spend much time in the hotel since there was so much to do, so for the price it was just what we needed. We found the little parking 'garage' that came with our room hard to pull into. My only complaint is the taxes were very high on the room. We are going to check out a different hotel next year but this was just right for the price.

Room Tip: Go with the medium priced room, you get a balcony and a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QHgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £98 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing