We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The room was dated BUT very clean. View was BEAUTIFUL. Staff was very, very nice and helpful. Stay included a continental breakfast. Good value for what you get. I would absolutely recommend Vista Motel and lodge there again next time in Gloucester.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Vista was our third choice when we booked, but it will be first next time. What a beautiful location. We loved seeing the tidal marshes fill and drain from our terrace, and our morning walks on Good Harbor Beach were a highlight of our trip to Gloucester. The decor is a little retro, but the room was spacious and clean, and the people were kind and helpful. This place was a real treat; we love motels again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Wanted to book a place to stay in or around Gloucester and found this particular place online. Had originally called the motel in the morning and was told a reservation wasn't necessary for a standard room that night as they had many available. Upon arrival around dinner time, the front desk clerk said they had no more of those rooms left. After telling the clerk what I was told earlier, she immediately offered us one of their queen deluxe rooms for the same price. We were very happy and appreciative of that.

The room was huge with 2 queen beds, plenty of seating and table space, a fridge, a microwave, and a balcony that had an incredible view of Good Harbour. If you can get past the dated and seafoam green fixtures, bathroom was adequate. The only real negative about the room was its poor lighting. Plenty of lamps, but dim lighting for such a large room. Wifi worked well.

Not sure about the other rooms, but the queen deluxe rooms also have assigned private parking spaces which is great when you come back late and don't have to worry about finding a spot.

A complimentary breakfast is provided and is pleasant enough. No hot items, but basic items such as warm muffins/loafs, donuts, cheese and salami slices, yogurt, bananas/apples, instant oatmeal, and coffee/tea/juice to start your morning.

The hotel is by no means modern, but it is clean, spacious, reasonably priced, offers wonderful ocean views, and has helpful and friendly staff. A very comfortable and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScreamingBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Gloucester, Mass. was on our list of places to see, and so glad because we were able to enjoy The Vista. Lovely location and view of ocean. Our room had a very nice decor, comfortable and clean with great view of the bay. We loved our quaint outdoor patio. The staff and front desk were absolutely wonderful; very helpful, curtious and accomodating. Ice was available at the front desk but very plentiful. Customer satisfaction is highly valued. The pool area was very enjoyable,relaxing and clean.The continental breakfast was delicious. Excellent coffee! . Much attention is given to simple yet classy detail in all aspects of The Vista. Less than a 10 min. drive to restaurants and shops. We decided to stay in Gloucester a second night but only if we could stay at The Vista.. and we did. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuliana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent one night at the Vista Motel. I wish we had more time there. The motel was clean and the staff was very nice. The view from our room was amazing. We sat on our porch and looked out at the ocean. It was so beautiful. They served a continental breakfast in the morning. We sat outside and once again looked at the beautiful ocean. The pool was closed because the season was over but the pool area was very nice. We are planning on going back to spend more time there. Each room has an assigned parking spot so there is no worry about find a parking place if you get back to the room late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a porch that faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mib2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Overnight stay enroute to New Hampshire and Vermont. Gloucester and Cape Ann were unexpectedly scenic (our guidebook led us to expect gritty rather than pretty). The room was spacious and clean and the balcony had a fantastic view over the Bay. If you have heavy luggage be sure to request a ground floor room as no ramps / lifts. No restaurants in immediate walking distance but short drive / taxi ride into Gloucester.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I honeymooned in Gloucester in 1979 and have been going there for the last 19 years. This was our first stay at the Vista, but definitely not our last. The room was large, airy and comfortable with a small but not to small refrigerator. WiFi was easy, TV selection for the evening was great. The continental breakfast was very enjoyable with extended hours over chain hotels. The staff was the friendliest we have ever run into in Gloucester. We will be back.

Room Tip: We just had the one room, but they all seemed to offer great views of Good Harbor Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
550 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £90 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing