We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Gloucester!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great find in Gloucester!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a warm welcome when we arrived.cozy room with a wonderful view of Good Harbor. We needed extra towels and received them promptly. Good continental breakfast. Hope to get acknowledge to the Vista Motel again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    137
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
156
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went to Gloucester for a family reunion. One of my Gloucester cousins suggested Vista. Beautiful views of Good Harbor beach and a short ride to Rockport with all it's Art Galleries etc. Excellent, courteous staff and clean, spacious rooms, all with a view of the Atlantic. Very close to fishing docks in Gloucester where we took advantage of Gloucester Fleet Charters on Essex Ave. for a cocktail cruise of the harbor and Cape Ann Whale Watching with plentiful whales. Don't miss Vista if you visit Gloucester!

Room Tip: Ask for Deluxe with Ocean view. Rm.22 has car-port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed the night at the Vista. The room was clean and well maintained with a lovely view of the Atlantic from the front patio. The Ocean is a bit further away than it appears in the photos (about a 10 minute walk to a beautiful beach) but the view is terrific anyway. The property is nice and the people who run it friendly. The breakfast was minimal but it was good to have hot coffee and a muffin easily available. I would stay here again

Room Tip: There are a few rooms without a view. I would ask for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MazinawMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first stay at the Vista and we will definitely be back.
Room: A
The room was quite spacious for two (we had two queen beds); deck overlooking Good Harbor Beach - what a view! We spent a good deal of time relaxing and enjoying the scenery. Our room had a carport below which was perfect as we arrived during heavy rain. Only time we got a little wet was going upstairs to the room. Otherwise, we stayed dry.
View: A+
So tranquil...
Pool: B (wasn't heated, no issue)
Very clean - they supply towels for the pool so no need to dirty your beach towels.
Breakfast: B
Yogurt, fresh fruit, donuts, dry cereal, coffee, juice, milk. Just enough to start your day.
The grounds are very well kept and the staff were all friendly and helpful.
Location: A
You can walk to Good Harbor Beach, but if you're lugging chairs and coolers better to drive. The Vista supplies parking coupons for $10/day and you must get there early as the town will close parking to all but local residents.
Located next to the motel is Shaw's and Rite Aid, Stop & Shop is on the other side.
Close to town (2 miles).
A true gem!!

Room Tip: Rooms 23 - 28 have carports.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were overall very pleased with the Vista. The value was great for a clean, well cared for motel. The breakfast could use a little fruit, there were only very hard apples during our stay. Also, the pool was not heated as advertised. Neither of those things would prevent us from staying again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyMamma0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is our 20th year in a row in Gloucester, MA and our second year in a row at the Vista. The rooms are clean and bright and Good Harbor beach is less than a half mile walk away. If walking isn't for you than the Vista offers a $10. off pass for beach parking but you need to get there (parking lot) early as it fills up very fast. There are may fine restaurants in the area as well as two very close grocery stores for simple needs or for full shopping if you rent an efficiency. The pool on the property is clean and refreshing and the continental breakfast consists of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, donuts (from Jim's), sweet breads, juices, tea and of course coffee (regular and decaf). The front desk always seems very happy to help and if you need ice for the day they supply you with a bag which is great instead of scooping ice from a machine!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean but the second floor rooms get a little better breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belchertown
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Have been bringing my nieces for an overnight to the beach for several years now. We would not stay at any other motel. We love the deluxe queen room; very large room with two comfy queen beds, a drive-under carport, ocean views, small refrigerator, small microwave, coffee machine, plus you get discounted parking at spectacular Good Harbor Beach and ice for your cooler.........what more can you ask for? See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
2.2 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing