We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A motel that feels like an inn”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A motel that feels like an inn”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and spacious with great little kitchenettes. The view over Good Harbor is gorgeous and the setting quite private. We enjoyed morning swims in the pool. And runs along the scenic coastal drive. Just 10 min walk or 2 minute drive to. Good Harbor beach.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    137
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
132
156
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was my family's first trip to Cape Ann area, to attend a rehearsal dinner in Gloucester and wedding in Rockport. The Vista is easy to get to and in a good central location for venturing out across Cape Ann. It is also in a beautiful spot by the ocean, with a beach very close by. The only challenge with the Vista is that, due to its proximity to the very popular Good Harbor Beach, sometimes traffic piles up in front of the hotel heading to the beach parking lot, making it hard to drive in that direction. But not a major inconvenience because there are ways around that traffic mess.
Our room, 21, had a nice ocean/beach view, it was spotlessly clean and spacious enough to house comfortably our family of four. The entire hotel premises is amazingly well maintained, from the general areas to the pool and all around the grounds. The pool was bigger than I thought it would be and great fun for the kids, with several pool toys available to borrow.
Breakfast is basic continental (yogurts, cereal, donuts, muffins, fruit, juices, coffee, etc.), but of excellent quality and served in a very nice breakfast room offering both indoor and outdoor seating. (Would've been nice if there were some english muffins and/or bagel available.)
All of the staff we encountered were professional, informative and helpful.
On our last night there, when we returned a little late from the wedding reception, someone had parked in our assigned spot. Additionally, there was a group of folks drinking and being a bit loud out on their deck until at least 1 a.m. when we finally fell asleep. This seemed to be an unpleasant exception as all other guests we encountered seemed to be quiet and nice.
When we checked out the owners were in the office, they knew about our parking and noise inconvenience from the night before and they were sincerely apologetic - in addition to do something very nice for us that was their way to show their sincerity.
Cape Ann really is a wonderful place to visit if your into the whole rustic, seaside New England town experience, which is our favorite. We've been going to Newport quite a bit over the past several years, but now I think we will venture to Cape Ann for our next few New England visits.
And when we do go, we will stay at the Vista Motel again without question. In fact, we are already planning our next stay there...

Room Tip: When selecting your room call the front desk for guidance based on your preferences, they can tell y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had an amazing time. All the employee's were so nice and helpful. They went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We will defenately be returning. Close to everything and amazing views from your room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Large room, decor dated, however very clean. Room had balcony with fantastic view of good harbor beach. Decent size outdoor pool, advertised as heated but it was freezing. Motel offers breakfast, had a nice little outdoor eating area but we didn't eat here, only grabbed a coffee that was quite nice. Free wifi, which we found worked very well! Big supermarket behind motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxandsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We discovered this gem of a motel on TripAdvisor when we were planning a trip to Cape Ann a few years ago, and we've now stayed with them three times! The rooms are clean and well-tended, the grounds are lovely with a nice little pool, and the breakfast is an added bonus. Close to Good Harbor Beach, a short walk to some great tidal pools for exploring, and a short drive to downtown and Rockport. I can't recommend the Vista enough!

Room Tip: The efficiencies are great if you've got kids or would like to bring takeout back to the room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a warm welcome when we arrived.cozy room with a wonderful view of Good Harbor. We needed extra towels and received them promptly. Good continental breakfast. Hope to get acknowledge to the Vista Motel again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went to Gloucester for a family reunion. One of my Gloucester cousins suggested Vista. Beautiful views of Good Harbor beach and a short ride to Rockport with all it's Art Galleries etc. Excellent, courteous staff and clean, spacious rooms, all with a view of the Atlantic. Very close to fishing docks in Gloucester where we took advantage of Gloucester Fleet Charters on Essex Ave. for a cocktail cruise of the harbor and Cape Ann Whale Watching with plentiful whales. Don't miss Vista if you visit Gloucester!

Room Tip: Ask for Deluxe with Ocean view. Rm.22 has car-port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
3.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing