We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New England Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“New England Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

You folks always make my stay memorable. You are simply the incomparable!! New England charm at its best! meticulously maintained property with really friendly staff. Rooms are as spotless as the grounds, reasonably priced and all served up with a nice pool and outstanding vistas. I have stayed at bass rocks before and I can say that property while very nice lacks charm which the vista has in spades!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    137
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
156
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Vista Motel is an exceptional value. It is very clean, the staff are exceptional and the views and proximity to the beach are a real pleasure. You can sit outside your room and see the Ocean, and enjoy the sounds of the gulls. It is quiet which is a plus when seeking a quiet vacation spot that is also family friendly. A nice continental breakfast adds to this, as does a nice pool. It is close to downtown Gloucester and the harbor so you can visit the artsy shops in town or tour a working harbor. On the harbor you can take any number of whale watcher tours, or sailing on the schooner Lannon. There are a variety of restaurants as well. The Vista is a great place to be to relax and enjoy the coast of New England. If you are interested in the history of the area, such as the Salem Witch trials, you are close to all of that as well. It is well situated.
The only minuses are the mattresses which need some updating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lennonforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Vista Motel exceeded our expectations. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and our efficiency room was immaculately clean and had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. It was lovely to have the balcony to sit out on and the views were amazing. We also enjoyed the swimming pool. If we ever return to the area we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The only compliant I have about The Vista is that it is very outdated. Wood paneled walls, blue tub, toilet and sink and furniture very old. If your going to charge $220.00 a night the place needs an update! Otherwise it was clean, good breakfast and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuckyuckyuck1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This Motel was all and more than we expected it to be. Wonderful views, clean and comfortable rooms,large towels great pool, good breakfast out on the veranda with amazing views!
Owner was especially nice and even offered to drive us to the beach so we wouldn't have to pay to park.
The motel is in a great local across from the beach and close to town. It was only a 15 min ride for an afternoon in Rockport.
Will recommend Vista Motel to all our clients.
Congratulations on an establishment well run.

Room Tip: We had room #32 which was perfect although all rooms have beautiful views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckienzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Came to Gloucester for a whale watch after a college visit to Boston. Service was very friendly and accommodating. Room had a lovely view of the beach. The owners are very thoughtful to provide everything needed for the rooms. The grounds are meticulously cared for. Continental breakfast was lovely with better choices than just muffins. I accidently left my cell phone at the inn and they were kind enough to mail it to me. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff was so courteous and helpful. I went there with my wife for our 10 year Anniversary (I'm from New England now living in NY, so coming here was a "gift" she gave me;). The staff arranged to have champagne on ice for us, cut blooms from the property and left in a vase in our room, it was really nice. A short walk to the beach, great views, quiet room, what else could you want? Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing