We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I'm originally from Gloucester, headed back for our anniversary. We originally had a room at a dump on the Causeway, (that was supposedly renovated...ha). After leaving after just one night, we were left without a place to stay. We happened upon the Vista and were lucky enough to get a room. It was very clean, the staff were respectful and helpful, and the view was incredible. We had an efficiency room. Since this stay, we've stayed once more and will continue to stay here. The continental breakfast is much better than the usual fare serving continental style. The breads, muffins, fresh fruit and cereal were excellent, as was the coffee. No more cheesy stays on the Causeway. The Vista's it for us.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giovanna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    137
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
132
156
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I agree with the other reviewers in their characterization of this property. It is very clean, but could use some remodeling. The ceiling tiles in our room were sagging in places and looked as if someone had unsuccessfully attempted to fix them. The carpet had some sun damage, and some of the tile, grout, etc. was showing wear. Nevertheless, it felt very clean. The rooms are very spacious, and the light-blocking drapes work pretty well. It was nice and quiet, and the beds were pretty comfortable. The pool is great, as is the customer service. I love the location, and found the walk to the beach to be quick and charming. We took advantage of the discounted beach parking passes to visit another Gloucester beach. The breakfast is a bit carb-heavy, but the donuts are some of the best I have ever had! The other guests were predominantly European on this particular trip. We will definitely return! Great value.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jschantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My wife and I came to spend our anniversary here and we ended up extending our stay and turning it into a family vacation. You can tell that the owners' expectations are high--every staff member gave personalized service with a smile and truly every aspect of our stay was well-looked after. It's a short drive to great dinner and social spots and beaches--you almost don't need to get in the car though, so many things are walkable distance. We also encountered so many friendly guests who all seemed to say they'd been coming here for years. Essentially we easily decided to make the Vista home to our annual summer visit to Gloucester!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FusileerRFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This is an older motel (50s or 60s) but it is immaculate. There's no sign of wear. everything works and the showers are great (Oxygenics). Rooms have a view of the ocean and when you call for a reservation you are given a choice of views. An obstructed view is a bit cheaper. An unobstructed view was $120 a night and included a continental breakfast. the desk staff was cheerful and helpful. Location is great. 5 minutes from everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGLNorthernNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Vista Motel for two nights. The staff/owners gave us excellent service. The room was clean and what a view, we made coffee in the morning and enjoyed it outside on the balcony. Quiet and very comfortable would love to bring the kids in the summer. The beach is right there and the kids would love the outside pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rejsesyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

2nd year in a row we stayed here, beautiful view, FAST WIFI, clean, comfortable, quiet room. everything needed for an extended stay, even silverware! I grew up in Gloucester and always noticed the Vista as being there but never realized it was such a "Hidden Jewel"!
Now when I get home to visit, I make it a point to stay here. EXCELLENT! A little pricey but hey...it's Gloucester!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth MA,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This is the third time I have stayed at the Vista and look foreword to my next visit. The first two times were on over night trips with my daughter, once in the summer and once in Oct. to go to the Hammond Haunted Castle for Halloween. This time it was Valentine's weekend with my girlfriend. Even if I tried I could not find a negative thing to say about the hotel or the staff. The first time I stayed there I was coming back from Maine after a few days if white water rafting with my daughter. We had a few more days to kill and decided to do it in the North Shore area after stopping at several hotels and being quoted outrageous rates or seeing a no vacancy sign we half heartedly stopped at the Vista. We were warmly greeted and quoted a reasonable rate. The stay there was perfect and in conversation with other guests by the pool or at the continental breakfast all felt the same and at least two people I had conversations with where repeat customers.
Make your reservations now!!! :-) You will come back again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theswmpoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
3.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing