We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than I expected”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Wallkill, New York
1 review
“Nicer than I expected”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I was absolutley suprised at the ocean view we had. The room was comfortable,very clean and the grounds were very well kept

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerta417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    139
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
139
160
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Vista for 2 nights. We had a room with 2 double beds which were very comfortable. The bathroom and room itself were very clean. There was a microwave and a larger size portable refrigerator which was nice. We had a small, semi-private patio with a great view. I think if the owners made this patio area a bit prettier with flowers, etc., it would go a long way to improving the quaintness of the place. The view is great, though. Breakfast in the morning was nice - large selection of teas and good breads & muffins, cereal, and fruit. The staff was courteous & pleasant. There was a very nice pool as well. If you're looking for a clean, affordable place with no-frills and friendly staff and great views, this is the place. It would be great for families with kids since there's a pool AND it's so close to the beach. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Booked here because of the good reviews and it turned out even better than hoped. Not fancy, of course, but extremely clean, good quality and everything in perfect working order. Appreciated the little things like discount parking vouchers, ready-made bags of ice for your cooler, and very nice continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OH
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We spent three wonderful nights at the Vista and enjoyed the location greatly. Every room has a view of the ocean (Good Harbor Beach), which is an easy walk. Our 8 and 11 years old made the walk at least 5 times during our stay. If you lug lots of things to the beach, the parking lot is very close to the hotel, which offers discount passes. Our deluxe room had a refrigerator and microwave but the efficiencies have a kitchen. OUr kids looked forward to the breakfast each a.m. which offered a wonderful selection of donuts. Your favorite is not there, don't hesitate to ask - the woman in charge will gladly check her supply! The pool was clean and near the breakfast area where lots of people relaxed and enjoyed their breakfast on a patio. This hotel is perfect for families as there is an expansive lawn where children can run and blow off steam. Our room was on the second floor with a carport underneath - just something to think about if you have trouble with stairs. The balcony was quite relaxing.

Good Harbor beach is a wonderful place to play for the day. The water was very cold but the kids enjoyed looking for critters in the connected tidal pool. A few tips, you will see the locals keep their belongings far back from the beach. They are quite aware of the tide and how quickly it can swallow up your things (and sandcastles) if you are not paying attention! :) At low tide, you can walk to a nearby island (in waist-deep water at the most) and climb on the rocks. I suggest you wear water shoes as both of my boys came back with cuts on their feet from old rusting lobster traps. However, the experience is well-worth it.

While there, we did go to breakfast at Matty and Christa's Fort Sq. Cafe which is a local joint located near the whale watch tours downtown where the kids can sit at the counter and watch their food being made. If you are heading out on whale watch, allow plenty of time but let them know, they'll be sure to get you out of there in time. We took the 7 Seas Whale watch tour whilch produced about 7 whales for our viewing pleasure. The whales were quite a bit south, near Provincetown, which meant a long boat ride to and fro. All the boats work well together to ensure that all of their passengers get a chance to view the whales in the area. Not one company hogged the view. Another evening, we drove a few miles to Rockport and it was well worth walking around this pleasant seaside town. This is actually where we found our trip's t-shirts and sweatshirts at a reasonable cost. We had fun walking through the store-lined streets to the rock jetty where the kids were anxious to walk out to the end. We ate at the Lobster Pool which was OK but a must-eat-at is the Causeway in Gloucester. Get there early as there was a long wait when we came out. The food is to die for and large portions. We enjoyed a 3 hour kayak tour with Spencer, a guide for the ERBA kayak company. Give a day's notice as their guides are on-call. Everyone there was professional and knowledgable about the area. We hit some strong winds as we were crossing one area and Spencer was very sweet to tie our 11 year old to his kayak and give him a ride until we got to a nearby protected area. It was a beautiful way to spend the afternoon and an easy paddle. They offer several different tours.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justanohmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I'm originally from Gloucester, headed back for our anniversary. We originally had a room at a dump on the Causeway, (that was supposedly renovated...ha). After leaving after just one night, we were left without a place to stay. We happened upon the Vista and were lucky enough to get a room. It was very clean, the staff were respectful and helpful, and the view was incredible. We had an efficiency room. Since this stay, we've stayed once more and will continue to stay here. The continental breakfast is much better than the usual fare serving continental style. The breads, muffins, fresh fruit and cereal were excellent, as was the coffee. No more cheesy stays on the Causeway. The Vista's it for us.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giovanna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, OH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I agree with the other reviewers in their characterization of this property. It is very clean, but could use some remodeling. The ceiling tiles in our room were sagging in places and looked as if someone had unsuccessfully attempted to fix them. The carpet had some sun damage, and some of the tile, grout, etc. was showing wear. Nevertheless, it felt very clean. The rooms are very spacious, and the light-blocking drapes work pretty well. It was nice and quiet, and the beds were pretty comfortable. The pool is great, as is the customer service. I love the location, and found the walk to the beach to be quick and charming. We took advantage of the discounted beach parking passes to visit another Gloucester beach. The breakfast is a bit carb-heavy, but the donuts are some of the best I have ever had! The other guests were predominantly European on this particular trip. We will definitely return! Great value.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jschantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My wife and I came to spend our anniversary here and we ended up extending our stay and turning it into a family vacation. You can tell that the owners' expectations are high--every staff member gave personalized service with a smile and truly every aspect of our stay was well-looked after. It's a short drive to great dinner and social spots and beaches--you almost don't need to get in the car though, so many things are walkable distance. We also encountered so many friendly guests who all seemed to say they'd been coming here for years. Essentially we easily decided to make the Vista home to our annual summer visit to Gloucester!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FusileerRFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
203 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.1 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing