We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect solution for what we wanted - efficient, view of the sea, very near all sorts of things to see.”
Review of Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
quimper
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect solution for what we wanted - efficient, view of the sea, very near all sorts of things to see.”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We shall save wonderful memories of our stay at Vista Motel - just so practical, efficient, view of the sea and to be able to do our own meals was so important, not being restaurant fans and trying to eat healthily. With Shaw's just around the corner it was perfect. Great location near all sorts of cultural things to see and do as well as lovely
walks in out of the way places. An independently run family place is ever so much nicer than the hotel chains and really this was more convenient than the bed and breakfast formula where you have to spend your time finding restaurants and getting very sick of restaurant meals. Bravo - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francoisQuimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    137
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
132
156
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is perhaps one of the very few ADA compliant handicapped facilities in the Cape Ann area. Service and hospitality was above and beyond expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VistaRater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

After a bad experience at the Sea Breeze in Bar Harbor, we were pleasantly pleased with our stay at the Vista. The room was very quiet, roomy and clean. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful in recommending restaurants on Rogers Street in downtown Gloucester. The motel sits on top of a hill with a great view of the ocean. They have a small but adequate continental breakfast near the pool each morning. Fresh muffins, pound cake, donuts, cereal and fruit. We only stayed the one night but got a quiet good nights sleep. We will definitely return to this motel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjones04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed at the Vista for 4 nights at the end of August 2010. I've been to Gloucester a few times and have always stayed at either Bass Rocks or Atlantis. Since they were both booked, I tried the Vista. I wasn't expecting much, since it's an older motel with a "mom and pop" feel. I was wrong. They had a really nice continental breakfast by the pool area and if you couldn't find what you wanted, the'd get it for you. The outdoor pool was very clean but wasn't heated as stated. The area around the pool was beautifully landscaped, with comfortable loungechairs. The Vista is literally a 10-12 minute walk to the footbridge of Good Harbour Beach. If you have a lot of stuff, you can drop off other members of your party at the beach, then park at the hotel and walk back. This will save you the $25 parking fee ($15 with the coupon the hotel will give you). The only rooms available were smoking, but there was no odor at all. I had an efficiency with 2 double beds. Yes, the room and decor were old looking, but it was spotless. The only negatives were that the TV was very tiny and hard to see, and the mattresses were old and uncomfortable. Even so, I will stay at the Vista the next time I visit, as opposed to the more "upscale" Bass Rocks. I believe the key to success for any business is great customer service, and that is what I found at the Vista. The staff was unbelievably exceptional, everyone from the front desk to housekeeping to the groundskeepers. The owners must treat their staff well and with respect because it shows in their morale. They all do an outstanding job and I recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We drove to Gloucester from Logan Airport in pouring rain, not knowing what to expect and were pleasantly surprised at the good location of the hotel, up on a bluff overlooking the water. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was warm and helpful. A young man took time from his other duties to help us up the stairs with our heavy bags and the clerk was happy to help us figure out where to go for dinner. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Vista was a nice hotel, a bit dated in some aspects but you can't beat the view from the room when you wake up in the morning. The mattress I slept on make springy noises when I laid on it, but the room was clean.
There was a nice breakfast in the morning, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

I do wish there was a drop box by the front office for people who check out early, there was a night manager but there was a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian32828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell Hall, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My husband and I go to the Vista almost every weekend in the fall and spring...We have been coming here for at least 5 years now...We love the rooms the staff and the owners...They all feel like family to us....It is our home-away-from-home...Please visit , it is great getaway all year round...
John & Gail Tymoczko

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john7gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
3.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 22 Thatcher Rd, Scenic 127A, Gloucester, MA 01930-3196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a high knoll overlooking beautiful Good Harbor Beach, the Vista Motel is your Gloucester, Massachusetts getaway. We offer Standard, Deluxe and Efficiency rooms all with gorgeous ocean views, DirecTV with HBO, individual air conditioning, and mini fridge/microwave and coffeemaker. Additionally there is an outdoor heated swimming pool, free WiFi along with free local and long-distance phone calls. Also complimentary is a lovely continental breakfast, ice for you cooler and the USA Today. And, the Vista has the most friendly staff on Cape Ann! See for yourself and you, too, will become a Vista regular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Gloucester
Vista Motel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing