We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of Morning Glory

Morning Glory
Ranked #22 of 141 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Amherst, Ma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Yummy breakfast. Decorated tastefully in a nautical motif. Near the water. Great service. Suggested by Lisa at The Sea Glass Inn.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cash-Only local coffee shop w/view”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Local coffee shop w/a view of "the Boulevard" and harbor.

We have dined here a number of times over the years w/family & friends. It gets packed rather quickly, & also has some outdoor patio seating, but service can be moody or cranky! Open from 6am - 2pm (3pm on Sat & Sun), the Morning Glory serves standard breakfasts, lunch, homemade specials & fresh seafood.

Our coin bought us some pretty good, bottomless coffee, made-to-order omelettes w/toast & home fries, & Eggs Benedict (several choices), though we don't care for the cramped quarters, nor the rushing & shushing of diners.

Cash ONLY!! Considering everyone's taste, comfort level, & wallet, there are other more satisfying places to go in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great gem to find”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I have been here now about 5 times a d it is still our favourite breakfast place. Best hash brown. Antoinette is a great waitress and friendly as is all the staff. Certainly NOT a greasy spoon. I am the relative of the 2 burnt bacon ladies.

    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caggym11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, service could be better.”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The food was good and it was delivered timely.The service could be better.The waitress said that we were not really allowed to sit out on the deck, but she would let us, althought the deck already had 4 tables of customers.She acted as if she was too busy to serve us.She told us to set up our own silverware and gave us a pitcher of water to serve ourselves.She forgot to bring us a box for the leftovers.The service was not that good!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice view and good food.”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Morning Glory offers deck seating with a view of the beach that's across the street. The staff is pleasant and the food was good at a very reasonable price.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAfamilyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morning Glory also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Morning Glory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing