We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too noisy.”
Review of Morning Glory

Morning Glory
Ranked #22 of 141 Restaurants in Gloucester
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Way too noisy.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I've heard said that if it's too loud you're too old. That may be the case here. They sat us smack dab in the middle of this tiny little cafe where the tables are really close together and the table itself was really small. It seems to be run by two older sisters who were really loud. That combination made it a really uncomfortable meal for us. The food itself does not make up for it. Although they were very good with filling our coffee cups, my omelet it was the thickest and least fluffy I've ever had and was nearly tasteless. We were very glad to leave. I don't want to be too rough on the place. It did appear to be very clean and might have been nice and cozy if half as many people were there.

Helpful?
1 Thank mageith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant with nice people”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We ate there several times and always found it to be very pleasant and with nice people. The place is small but airy with a nice view, very clean and the service is good. Food is good--bacon is crisp, eggs are done well, coffee hot, etc. Can't complain. They only accept cash but there is an ATM machine inside the restaurant. If you have someone who is in a wheelchair, I suppose you could get someone to let you in through a back door or some other entrance (I don't know), but there are steps leading up to the front entry way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancineMiddlecozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a quiet little restaurant just steps away from The Inn at Babson Court. Restaurant features daily specials and does offer a plate of fruit for $6.50 and the fruit selection was fine. Coffee was good and the cup is bottomless as long as you are ordering a full breakfast. I had a desire for a sandwich that was not described on the menu; however, they made one up for me, just as I had ordered and thoroughly enjoyed. Great little restaurant, friendly staff....obviously a local favourite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItalianRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cozy and friendly”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A small seaside cafe on the main road this little spot had great coffee, great service and delicious food!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank threedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a GREAT place!!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A spotless little restaurant with most pleasant people just waiting to please you with delectible breakfast or lunch with everything being homemade. Opens at 7:00 and closes at 2:30, this restaurant was recommended to us by a patron staying at our motel and so we tried it as we were leaving Gloucester...Wish it would have been the first restaurant we tried! We opted for a special which was baked Haddock w/mashed potatoes and choice of broccoli or corn, we also ordered the homemade macaroni & cheese....way too much but we wanted to try it. Absolutely delicious! The dessert of the day was homemade blueberry pie which we passed on. Had alot of food left over to take with us which we ate for dinner at the airport. This is now at the top of the list of our favorites along with Duckworth Bistro and Azorean but for a great home cooked meal, you cannot beat the Morning Glory.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morning Glory also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Morning Glory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing