We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic Inn on the. Gloucester Harbor”
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bodeeda
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic Inn on the. Gloucester Harbor”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We only stayed one night but the inn was clean, the view from the front porch was amazing and beautiful, one of the most beautiful well tended flower gardens anywhere around here. The innkeepers were very friendly, the room was very comfortable. My only wish was the breakfast was a little better, I'm used to a nice cooked breakfast at most B&B's and they had the usual garden variety of dry cereal and some pastries. Overall, I'd stay here again I would just plan to have breakfast out in one of the local well known restaurants. Location was superb for walking to town and around the harbor !!! On a quirky note, the home was built in 1810 by the Gorton family of the Gorton Fisherman fame !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    23
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
56
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Lion, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Arriving in Gloucester on a Wednesday evening with no reservations, we came upon this B&B along the harbor. Fortunately we were able to stay here for one night. Even though there was a lot of traffic noise heard in the room, the traffic subsided by 10 p.m. and we had a very quiet, restful night's sleep. The photo of the rose colored room was our room and we enjoyed the views of the harbor. A good location because we had a short walk to Main Street for restaurants and didn't have to use the car. Breakfast was continental and for the price of the room, I would have enjoyed a bit more variety, perhaps some yogurt and fruit salad. Bananas were available as was two kinds of cereal, some coffee cakes, hard boiled eggs, bagels and English muffins. (I suppose I just missed having my daily yogurt/fruit fix :) The innkeepers were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed chatting with other guests.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our out-of-town guests were happy with the room and we were thrilled to get it for them. The Harborside Inn was the only place in the area that would rent a room for a single night.

You will be well cared for by the owner and will enjoy your stay. As a local, I can verify that the place is clean and secure with a million dollar view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyDiverChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We found the accommodations surpassed our expectations with a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. Breakfast though featuring simple fare proved more than adequate for our morning requirements. This morning repast takes place in a friendly, unhurried environment that can provide interesting conversation with John and the other clients or can be a solitary affair on the veranda if desired. John is a fount of knowledge about the surrounding area and is a resource that we recommend you use to the fullest.
The only regret that we have is the short duration of our stay (48hrs). Any future plans will involve an expanded opportunity to more fully experience this quaint, clean, thoroughly enjoyable establishment and the wonderful town where it resides.
Myles D

Room Tip: We were lodged in the Magnolia Suite which featured a king size bed (very comfortable) and a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Most people know the difference between a 4 star hotel in Boston and a classic New England Bed and Breakfast on Cape Ann. The Boston hotel might impress you with its amenities and fancy technological capacities, but that's not why you come to a place like the Harborview Inn. Don't look for a main desk, because you won't find one. The innkeeper, John Orlando, has figured out just how to make you feel at home at his home, because that's what a B&B is all about. You'll find all the amenities you need (clean comfortable beds, adaptable cable television and lots of personal touches) in this intimate setting. John will let you know anything you need to know about the greater Gloucester area - after all, he's been a native here for most of his life. You won't find that in any Boston hotel! Conveniently located across from the Harborwalk and not much farther from downtown restaurants and shops, this is an ideal stop for travelers who need to get away from everyday life. Other reviews have accurately captured the intimate charm of this classic B&B. If that's what you're looking for, make this your next relaxing destination!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

John does a great job of providing many of the amenities of a hotel, while creating the atmosphere of a small, warm and friendly B&B. That attention to detail allows you to feel that you are staying in a home that is yours for the time you are there. This friendly atmosphere encourages guests to share conversations and experiences with each other as well as with John, who seems to genuinely enjoy being an innkeeper. If you are a fan of New England B&B's, you will appreciate the period furniture, the colorful wall coverings, and the beautiful serving pieces. There are even filled candy dishes and tea to nibble on while you use the binoculars to take in the view of the bay. Any of the inn's 6 rooms will provide an intimate and charming getaway experience. The location is fabulous, with great views of the harbor and a very easy walk to downtown.
We look forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldan, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were able to book a room at the last minute. There is a Beautiful view of the Harbor across the street, within walking distance of downtown Gloucester. John was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but good. Off Street Parking available and a nice front patio. Very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.3 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.8 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Property: Harborview Inn
Address: Stacey Boulevard - 71 Western Avenue, Gloucester, MA 01930
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harborview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing