We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in Gloucester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best option in Gloucester”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for three nights and the place was very clean. They do try to accommodate special requests at front desk. Very well kept property and the staff are very friendly. The free bikes are a very nice touch, and can be used to peruse the back shore. Two suggestions would have made this a perfect vacation spot: There is no shade at the pool. Easy fix would be the addition of several tables and umbrellas. Other hotels nearby offer this. Also, the fresh fruit options at the breakfast are very lame. How difficult would it be to buy some fresh fruit salad from a local vendor or cut up some fresh fruit. What is provided in a bowl looks like it comes from Cosco. These are simple fixes that could be implemented immediately, and create the definitive resort stay on the back shore. Overall a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonFoodieTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    86
    23
    3
    10
See reviews for
119
229
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in one of the suites in the Stacey House and it was well worth the expense. The room was immaculate (and housekeeping kept it that way every day), the views were fantastic, and the location is convenient (only 5 to 10 minutes to Gloucester's downtown). The breakfast of muffins and breads is delicious, and having a suite with a fridge and microwave is handy as well. We will stay here every time we visit Cape Anne.

Room Tip: Suites 502 and 503 will have better views of the ocean, suite 501 has a gas fireplace and may be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDS0006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Best vacation ever! Amazing views, peaceful, relaxing and a great breakfast. Muffins and the chocolate chip cookies were the best. Very clean rooms, grounds and pool. Left screen door open at night, went to sleep and woke up listening to the waves on the rocks. We all got up at 5:30 each morning to watch the sun rise while sitting on the rocks. Loved riding bikes to the beach and around the hotel. The grills were a great extra. The kids could hang out in the pool or play on the lawn while dinner was cooked. Can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Bottom floor in the middle is the best. Beautiful lawn and view. Very quiet. Close to the pool, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m915b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Have visited the hotel about six times in the past eight years. The five days spent here were the shortest ever and we spend the rest of the year just wishing we were back there. Just to lie in bed watching the lobster boats hauling in that night's dinner and gazing out to Thatcher Island is wonderful. Alternatively pouring ourselves a big gin and tonic and sitting at our table and chairs on the balcony listening to the ocean is the perfect rest after a busy year at work.
We love just sitting there so much that we cancelled many of the trips out we had planned in order to spend more time at the hotel.
Being larger sized people, air conditioning is very important to us and it worked perfectly for us; agree the only improvement could be a larger bathroom but that would mean reducing the size of the room so we would prefer to keep things as they are. Hotel, rooms and grounds well maintained and clean. Breakfast is a wonderful choice of fresh breads, fruit, cheese, boiled eggs, cereals, marmalade to die for, excellent Starbucks coffee, good choice of fruit juices and a great breakfast room gazing out on the ocean with windows that open to allow the sea breeze to waft over the table. That day's papers always on hand if I get bored with the view (never). Free cookies and lemonade in the afternoon. If raggedy1 can't find good food in Gloucester and surrounding area then I would hate to go where they go. Gloucester is a commercial seaport with lovely, friendly hard working people. Its not the prettiest town but we love it. There are far better restaurants now than a few years ago and we have had excellent meals at the Azorean, Latitude, Gloucester House and the Seaport. Take a short trip down to Essex to Woodman's for the greatest lobster rolls you will ever encounter. But really we don't know what we are talking about even though we have travelled the world and stayed in some of the supposedly top hotels. Don't take the risk and go to Gloucester and stay at the Bass Rocks - keep away - so then we won't have to book so far in advance to get the room we want!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bass Rocks on July 22 and July 23 of 2013. It was our 30th wedding anniversary and we had an absolutely marvelous time. We stayed in one of the suites in the main house and the room was spectacular. I ordered the romance package of roses, chocolate cherries and champagne and have never received a better package anywhere else. The roses were the most beautiful I have ever seen and the cherries were from a local candy company that is been in Gloucester for ever, and were scrumptious.
A special shout out to the man at the front desk name Brandon. He had the most gracious way about him and likable smile. You knew he was sincere in everything he was trying to help you with. Don't forget to ask for him by name, you will not be sorry. We will definitely go back there again someday. God willing :)

Room Tip: Get a suite in the main house, they're only three of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MH723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Va
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great experience. The views are beautiful. The air conditioning is almost nonexistent. There is a single balcony connecting all of the rooms. Little privacy. Overall, it is worth the stay. Probably best available.

Room Tip: Chose the upper deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebparks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Inn is absolutely lovely and situated very well...don't think there's a bad room in the place. The rest of the reviews pretty much say it all...but I don't think I'd stay again for a couple of reasons.
First--and the only reason directly related to the hotel itself--is the size of the bathroom and general crowed nature of the room. The bathroom's size was a problem since there is only one tiny shelf and nowhere to store toiletries and make-up, mirrors, etc. I used the end of the ironing board which I put up and kept outside the bathroom door. This only worked because there were only 2 of us in the room--my husband and I--and this arrangement did make getting in and out the door interesting!
The other reasion is the area in general. Yes, Gloucester and surrounding towns are interesting--each in its own way--but restaurant offerings were lacking if you are looking for something that doesn't just take advantage of the ocean location, but does it well and upscale without being ridiculously impressed with itself, if that makes any sense. We routinely eat at white tablecloth restaurants and others that are well decorated and employ a well-trained waitstaff...I don't know how to explain this without sounding stuffy, which I'm not...but let's say there aren't many restaurants, at all, that are listed as inns or are the kind you'd want to go to for a lovely evening out. There are some very good restaurants that are larger, a bit noisier, kind of casual, and situated on the water...there are some that are clearly impressed with themselves...but there are very, very few others. There are a couple in Manchester, but that's all we found. For us, this is a deal breaker, unfortunately.
I would absolutely recommend Bass Rocks to anyone who wants to eat some exceptional seafood and sleep in a wonderful location...but wanted to give you my "read" on the area.

Room Tip: The end king rooms are great--second floor would offer the best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellverswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
5.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
14.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks

Property: Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Address: 107 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4398
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier oceanfront hotel and historic inn, Bass Rocks Ocean Inn was built on the rocky coastline of Cape Ann, home to America's Oldest Seaport. Beautifully restored Stacy House (1899) suites with pillow-top beds, flat panel t.V.'S, and Jacuzzi tubs. Individual suites offer gas fireplace, separate sitting and sleeping rooms or wrap-around view. Modern Oceanfront House and Seaside House open onto patios or balconies with sweeping views across the lawn and out to sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bass Rocks Ocean Hotel Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing