We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Large rooms with queen beds. Second floor has nice outdoor seating areas. They have beach bikes for the quick ride to good harbor beach also a nice pool. Cookies at the front desk are a nice treat! Plenty of parking.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    93
    22
    4
    10
See reviews for
122
238
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were pleased with our experience here. The manager is friendly and helpful. Breakfast (included) is satisfactory. Our room was clean and everything worked.

What's to quibble about? The bathroom was tiny. (I guess the designers were aiming to put as much space as possible into the bedroom.) The road crosses between the front of the Inn and the sea, and there is enough traffic to create substantial noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went to this property for a "staycation". We live locally, but wanted to get away and still stay close due to family circumstances. The view is gorgeous, the rooms, the pool and amenities are are wondeful, but the staff is pehnominal. We had to leave unexpectedly due to family circumstances and they were so gracious about it. We had contracted for a 3 night and we realized when we packed up that this was the gamble we took trying to get away, but they were so generous and credited us back the third night. That usually does not happen with big chains, but only with small town people like the ones who work at Bass Rocks. We are trying to plan another "staycation" there for this summer and would stay no where else! Hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: they are all good! Just go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa3115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Let's preface this review with the fact that this property is made up of three buildings and the one we stayed in was the Stacy House; the oldest building, built in 1897, and the most unique building on the property. The other two structures more closely resemble an upscale motel offering that offer fantastic ocean views, a neatly manicured property, and the use of the downstairs public areas of the original mansion. While quite nice, we would not judge them to be worthy of the same review as the property we stayed in. There are only three suites in the original house and all three are nicely done and offer what has to be the best ocean views of any inn on Cape Ann. Our suite consisted of a large bedroom (ocean view); a spacious bath; a kitchenette complete with microwave and a very spacious apartment-style refrigerator with an automatic ice-maker; and a very well appointed corner living room with lots of windows and a great view of the ocean that is just across the quiet road from the inn (not more than 75 feet away). The unit had dual climate control systems as well as 2 large flat-screen TV's for those who can't live without it. Exceptionally clean!!! Good sound-proofing. Very friendly and attentive service. Breakfast is buffet/Continental and adequate; nothing fancy and no hot dishes, but is a nice addition when you understand the limitations they have (all the suites from all three buildings are offered breakfast in the main building and many guests will prefer to make a tray and take it back to their suite or enjoy it by the pool, which also has a million dollar ocean view). About a ten minute drive to downtown Gloucester, fifteen to Rockport. Nothing is within walking distance except the water, and that was fine with us. New heated pool & Hot Tub; fire-pit and 2 outdoor grills for those who want to cook their own meals. Backs up to the golf course, which although private, can be used by guests of the inn for a fee (Tennis as well). Really nice property; probably best suited for couples.

Room Tip: The extra fare for a room in the Stacy House is WELL WORTH the price. Every room has a great view, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LochnessConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fabulous in nearly every way. The hotel staff couldn't be nicer. The breakfast buffet was beautiful with many choices of good quality food to select from. The rooms, the common areas, the pool and hot tub were immaculately clean. A rocky shore that's easy to climb down to the oceanfront is across the street and good Harbor Beach is right down the road a bit. Short drive or walk to golf, tennis, restaurants and entertainment venues. My only small negative is that the bathroom is a bit small with no counter space and the porches are community porches which are not private but other than that everything else there is perfect. The hotel rate is worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTDOC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatham, ny
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ocean face-time at its best

Nearly the entire ocean-facing wall in the room is windows and at high tide the ocean is only a couple hundred feet, at most from your room. They have benches across the street or you can find your way over the rocks to sit a few feet from the waves. Perfect.

Breakfast is included and the delicious fresh-baked muffins and breads make up for the fact that options are not numerous. As of 2014 they have redone the pool and moved further away from the building giving the 1st floor rooms more privacy, also added a hot tub and fire pit (very neat).

The staff are friendly, helpful and the grounds are immaculate, beautiful really.. As a DIY homeowner I appreciate the quality in the windows, trim and balcony railings - good stuff. We find the king-room a bit small but the 2 queen-room is perfect with a small couch. Yup, the bathrooms are small, too small really but despite these things we love it here, this is a great place to stay. Ocean face-time at its best

Room Tip: We prefer the more spacious queens and the second floor for the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romerjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are average not elaborate, equal to a Marriott ...but the view and the ocean is not possible to beat ... Very nice staff, easy parking, beautiful out door pool and hot tub, plenty to do plenty to see within 5 to 20 mins... You won't be sorry if you stay here !!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RMHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
203 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
327 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks

Property: Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Address: 107 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4398
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier oceanfront hotel and historic inn, Bass Rocks Ocean Inn was built on the rocky coastline of Cape Ann, home to America's Oldest Seaport. Beautifully restored Stacy House (1899) suites with pillow-top beds, flat panel t.V.'S, and Jacuzzi tubs. Individual suites offer gas fireplace, separate sitting and sleeping rooms or wrap-around view. Modern Oceanfront House and Seaside House open onto patios or balconies with sweeping views across the lawn and out to sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bass Rocks Ocean Hotel Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing