We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sentimental Gloucester...............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2007

I found Bass Rocks Inn on the internet & forwarded it to my brother & he booked it. We had a family reunion here in late June & it was fabulous ( a brother & family from upstate NY, another brother & family from Vermont & my hubby & I from Las Vegas), the weather was perfect, the rooms were very clean, the breakfast they provided was plentiful & excellent and the views from our rooms were exquisite. We had relatives who lived here years ago as we were growing up and even a great uncle whose name remains on the Memorial in the center of town for "going down to sea in ships." I will definitely stay at "Bass Rocks Inn" again when I come back to Gloucester and would recommend in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepi4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2007

Just got back. The resort was lovely, an old Inn, circa 1899...
The hotel part is obviously much newer (this is where we stayed). The rooms were all very clean. We had a king size bed that was very comfortable. Every room has an ocean view. Stayed on the first floor because it was cheaper, and we were glad that we did (no elevators). We had a nice patio and the upstairs balconies provided shade and protection. The room had a frig, which was nice. Able to have our cocktail hour outside and watch the boats. The grounds were very nicely kept, with perrenials (that were all blooming). There is a continental breakfast that is included. They had the best banana bread. They also served cereals and hard boiled eggs. There was a basket of fresh chocolate chip cookies available all day...and they were warm right out of the oven (that was like heaven, with a cup of starbucks coffee that was also kept fresh all day). There was a computer room in the main inn, and the rooms in the hotel were wireless. DVD's were available for guests, as well as bicycles (no charge ~ just let management know). AND, if you like to golf, you have access to the Bass Rocks Golf Club, which is right behind the hotel. Green fees were $75 for hotel guests. This is NOT a public course. Nice pool, too. And the staff were all very helpful and kind.
We only went for the weekend (2 nights) and it was too short. We had such a nice time... lucked out with great weather.
We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ronnie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We stayed here in June and it was one of the best vacations we have ever had. The hotel is very clean and the views are to die for. So peaceful and serene that I did not want to leave. We had the end room at the far end of the hotel so we had views from the balcony and our window facing the ocean. We watched the sunrise and the moonlight on the ocean and it was absolute heaven. They have bikes that you can ride and a pool table if you want to play pool. Lots of nice walk areas and a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

We arrived at the Bass Rocks Ocean Inn last week, absolutely by chance, guided by our GPS: we didn't know anything about it. It was around 6 pm, and there was a thick fog, so we realised the beauty of the place only in the morning. And it was so beautiful that we changed our plans and remained there for 4 days!

As others have written, every room has a balcony on the ocean, with just the lawn between you and a complete, unobstructed view of the bay. As behind the Inn there's a golf course, if you go on the roof, that has benches, you have the ocean on a side and the country view on the other: go there for sunset, it's astonishing. And the hotel is perfect: the room size it's confortable, nicely furnished (all the hotel is quite cozy: I think it has been a private residence), with a coffee maker and a DVD player where you can see for free the movies you choose from a DVD library.

Continental breakfast is included, and served in a nice veranda (with view of the ocean, of course), where you can seat whenever you like. There's a billiard room with a computer with an Internet connection, books and newspapers you can borrow, and complimentary coffee, lemonade and cookies all the day. Also, the staff is friendly (but not overfriendly!) and competent: they gave us some wonderful advice about restaurants and made the reservations for us. All that, for 200$ plus taxes, that we found a very fair price for such a beautiful and confortable place.

So, I absolutely recommend it. And Cape Ann was a wonderful discovery too!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clafromitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Stayed at the Bass Rocks Ocean Inn with my family in May - was very impressed. The hotel is right by the ocean. Every room is ocean-facing and the views are breathtaking! The property itself is lovely and well-groomed; there is a big lawn in front of the hotel, and a golf course in the back. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was very good, with cheese and fruit platter, bagels, eggs, and good coffee. Our room was large, impeccably clean, and was stocked with coffee and tea. We had a garden room which opened into the lawn, with plenty of room for children to run and play, and for adults to watch the sunset over the ocean! The common areas in the hotel are lovely, with the feel of a traditional family resort of early 20th century, somewhat nostalgic, with a beautiful library, well-equipped game room, lemonade and cookies, and a movie library. There is a grill by the pool that guests are welcome to use. The hotel has some bikes for the guests, along with helmets. The beach right by the hotel is a bit rocky, but there is a lovely beach within a short and pleasant walk, with tidal pools warm enough for swimming in May! While you are there, make sure you visit Rockport - very beautiful and artsy, with great shops, restaurants, and views.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

This was my second visit to The Bass Rocks Inn and I remain very impressed. The views of the Atlantic Ocean from every room are breathtaking. The staff is friendly and well-informed. The free perks are impressive(i.e. access to private golf course, free bicycle rentals, free move rentals, private access to beach area,etc.) We received a recommendation from the staff to dine at Rudders. Food was great and the place was hopping. The only complaint one could have about this hotel is the room decor. They need to update the beds, drapes, furniture, etc. If they upgrade the rooms, this place will be impossible to beat.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank psujack2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2006

Stayed 2 nights in mid October and we were very satisfied. Everything was as advertised, including the free bikes. Terrific service and WiFi was working great. Fabulous view at breakfast, outstanding food, pity it has to be on plastic plates. Front desk starff were extremely helpful, they have dozens of menus from local restaurants. Afrer some discussion of the ambiance we wanted, they made a suggestion and booked us reservations on the spot. turned out to be a fabulous place, as was our second choice the following night. Definitely make reservations to eat locally, this was end of season, but the restaurants were packed on Friday and Saturday night. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank koliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
2.4 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks

Address: 107 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4398
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £113 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier oceanfront hotel and historic inn, Bass Rocks Ocean Inn was built on the rocky coastline of Cape Ann, home to America's Oldest Seaport. Beautifully restored Stacy House (1899) suites with pillow-top beds, flat panel t.V.'S, and Jacuzzi tubs. Individual suites offer gas fireplace, separate sitting and sleeping rooms or wrap-around view. Modern Oceanfront House and Seaside House open onto patios or balconies with sweeping views across the lawn and out to sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bass Rocks Ocean Hotel Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing