We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home far away from home”
Review of Julietta House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Julietta House
Ranked #14 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Ridgewood, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home far away from home”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Julietta House is a wonderful and cozy place to relax, rest and contemplate the beauty of Gloucester, MA , the oldest fishing harbor on the east coast. It is an old charming house outside and inside. Staying there for few days I found everything I needed and more. It makes me to come back sometime soon...

Krystof Jakubek
photographer
Ridgewood, NY

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gl0ucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

My family [9 adults and 2 children] 'rented' Julietta House for a week for our semi-annual get-together. The rooms were fantastic, the kitchen facilities great, the living areas wonderful for our needs -- all very clean and a pleasure to use. The house is very convenient to Main Street where all kinds of wonderful restaurants and shops are, as well as being close enough to the Harbor for the whale watch companies. Susan gave us all kinds of tips on shopping, places to visit [and places and shops to not bother with], even though we couldn't take advantage of them all! Everyone of us would love to go back, and Julietta House would be the place for us no question. Gloucester is a wonderful town, everyone we dealt with was friendly and nice. Don't know what it would be like in the "on-season" though, not sure I would want to find out either. Cape Ann is full of so many nooks and crannies to explore. Driving along the coast in itself was great, as well as the ocean, the whales!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbev57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Owner at Julietta House, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Thank you for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The Julietta House is a typical colonial style house with period rooms and furniture. Inside is good but the exterior is tired and deteriorating. Don't accept the Lowe Library room on the ground floor as it opens into the living room. The bathroom is not private as it opens into the kitchen corridor, so anything can be heard!
The owners seem preoccupied with other interests as booking is difficult. Calls and emails were not returned. Eventually I had to call their cell phone several times to book a room. The prearranged plan to collect keys didn't happen and I had to call them again to be let in. They seem to have lost interest with this business, are busy with other things and live elsewhere now.
Gloucester has nothing to offer other than whale watching. There are a handful of restaurants and a couple of dingy bars. Don't bother with the Crows Nest bar, its not worth the effort. Go to Portland or Boston, both just over an hour away.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliettahouse, Owner at Julietta House, responded to this review, 2 January 2010
Glorious Sunrises, Amazing Sunsets, Wonderous Light, Sandy Beaches, Rocky Coastline, World Class Jazz, Blues, Kareoke, Billiard Bar & Brewery, 4 Mom & Pop Italian, Several Pubs, Authentic Mexican, Thai, 2 Tea Houses, 4 Cafes, 5 Fine Dining Restaurants - ALL within two blocks of the Julietta House adorned with fresh paint the day this guest left. Then, of course there is the Stage Company, West End Theatre, CA Symphony, Kayaking, Marshes, Birding, Trails for Biking, Climbing, Walking, Running, Centuries of Architecture, Art Workshops, Galleries, Shopping, Sculpture and yes, the Maritime Heritage Center near the working waterfront with a growing pleasure fishing fleet and 3 Whale Watch Boats. Gloucester is best suited for those who avoid the crowd, are glad there are almost no fast food joints and look lovingly at the history with the depth and appreciation of the Artists Eye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed here for one night recently to attend a local music event and chose it due to its location. While we normally prefer hotels, this sweet B&B was a great choice. It was very clean, the service was excellent, the room was comfortable and the parking was easy and free. It's billed as being very quiet but the street it's on was pretty noisy we thought with quite a bit of loud "foot traffic" almost all night and tons of cars rolling by. But other than that, we enjoyed our very brief stay and would recommend it to couples or singles.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karrieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliettahouse, Owner at Julietta House, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Wow, thanks for the compliments. Glad you liked it. Being downtown does deliver a loud night from time to time. You can't predict a spike. I always consider the quiet as being important coming from INSIDE the house. Perhaps I should mull that one over?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed two nights at Julietta House and really loved this truly amazing place!
We found everything to be impeccable, comforting and very cozy. The house
itself is stunningly beautiful, and the Captain's Terrace was a charming
domicile.
We lucked out with the weather, too! Hence, we were able to enjoy Gloucester
to the fullest, and we would love to come back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonCoastrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

I stayed at the Julietta House for almost a month while relocating to Gloucester. My experience there was close to perfect. The home itself is rich with character, history and restored architectural detail. The location is within walking distance to the downtown area which includes many great restaurants, shops, library, museums, the 'Y', etc. Julietta House has a large, updated self service kitchen which had everything you could need for the nights or days you want to eat in. I have spent numerous nights in many motels in the Gloucester area, and Julietta's location combined with atmosphere and value, makes it my #1 choice by far! (and I was there for almost a month!)

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimBGloucester_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We rent all the rooms of this wonderful historic house yearly for our annual reunion to reconnect with old friends, kick back and relax. The owners are very accomodating and see to our every need. The kitchen is stocked with all essentials for cooking and the atmosphere is so condusive for catching up. It's a very clean and comfortable home. Appropriate appointments and furnishings compliment and enhance the experience. If you're in the mood it's just a short walk and you're at the lively downtown, shopping and restaurants. Highly recommend Julietta House.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julietta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julietta House

Property: Julietta House
Address: 84 Prospect St, Gloucester, MA 01930-3710
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Julietta House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of historic Gloucester, the Julietta House is a Casually Elegant Self-Catering Inn. This 16 room Grand Georgian is a quiet retreat that offers carefully prepared guest rooms with all private baths. Caters to the independent traveller, who will enjoy plenty privacy and have access to the entire house. Footsteps to breakfast at Sugar Magnolia's, fine art at Cape Ann Museum, whale watches at Cape Ann Whale Watch, live music at the Rhumb Line, fine dining at Latitude 43, as well as the train to Boston and Salem. Symphony at the Shalin Liu and Good Harbor Beach are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Julietta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing