We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sauces”

Duckworth's Bistrot
Ranked #1 of 138 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The sauces”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

WOW! Duck is duck, monkfish is junk fish, unless they are cooked like it matters and the sauces are perfect. What a joy to go there. We were guided until we have had the best meal that we can remember. She knows. Let her be your guide. What a gift to start our vacation. Hope you can get a seat. You will enjoy it. The best part is you can have a variety of foods without over eating with their small sized portions. It is all good. I would not have cared if they put me next to the kitchen, but, fortunately we got the window. What an additional gift.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    43
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Duckworth's is one of the best places for good food in the area. They could offer more desserts made with fresh, local fruit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sannefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The food was well prepared and well presented -the room is small and too crowded for my taste but the quality of the meal made up for it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank threedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Duckworth's lived up to its reputation!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very busy little bistro style restuarant with a relaxed, confident ambience and friendly, enthusiastic staff. The food was to die for! We ordered the Lobster Risotto and Scallop Salad to start followed by Seafood Stew and Duck Breast...all of which were amazing - especially the Lobster Risotto!! Although full to the brim, we ordered some Banana Layer Cake..OMG!! It's a must! We had some good qualityy cava, soem delicious red wine and a port too!! We booked 5 days in advance for a Wednesday night and were lucky to get a table. It is this popular because it really is that good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank korrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“loved it so much we went back 3 nites later”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were in the area for a week and went to Duckworths on tuesday nite.

Crowded but we could tell that everyone was enjoying their meal. Had an 830 rez- seated at 835.

Wine list - a little pricy but we found an excellent french sauvignon blanc for $38.

Waiter was great- personable, knowledgeable and glad to serve us.

menu was also great- had frisee, lardons and poached egg salad- yum- and caesar salad- caesar was good not great but the croutons were amazing ( i usually pick them out)- parmesan crusted, crunchy and tasty.

then we had half dozen oysters- pristine and delish and a half order of mushroom/asparagus
risotto- best risotto ever.

we looked at each other and said this is an excellent meal- better than any place else we had been in the area- and made a rez for friday nite on the spot.

finally had half portion of roast chicken entree- excellent and half portion of scallops- also excellent.

no dessert or coffee- bill was $150. A little pricy but well worth it.

Went back on Friday.

Same waiter. same bottle of sauvignon blanc.

Same frisee salad, same oysters- both excellent.

Also had mushroom bisque- earthy and delicious.

half order of strip steak entree- perfectly cooked, tender and delish.

full order of homemade fettucine bolognese- al dente pasta, hearty and robust sauce- excellent.

no dessert or coffee-$150 again.

So we were in Cape Ann for a week- these were the 2 best meals by far.

Wish we lived closer- would like to go tonite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank z235e49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duckworth's Bistrot also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Duckworth's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing