We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”

Duckworth's Bistrot
Ranked #1 of 139 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
401 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We love Duckworth's Bistrot and go there as much as we can for special meals. Simply put, the food is exceptional (and consistent), the atmosphere is welcoming, the service is genuine, and the overall experience is perhaps the best "neighborhood" restaurant we've ever encountered. The only downside is that due to the size you'll need a reservation well in advance!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skgbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    43
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Duckworth's Bistrot”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's a quaint restaurant in an older home. Very small and you need reservations I think. It was filled and we just happened to get in, because of a cancellation. The Fish Stew was devine. I never knew it could be so good. It's pricey, but worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The sauces”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

WOW! Duck is duck, monkfish is junk fish, unless they are cooked like it matters and the sauces are perfect. What a joy to go there. We were guided until we have had the best meal that we can remember. She knows. Let her be your guide. What a gift to start our vacation. Hope you can get a seat. You will enjoy it. The best part is you can have a variety of foods without over eating with their small sized portions. It is all good. I would not have cared if they put me next to the kitchen, but, fortunately we got the window. What an additional gift.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Duckworth's is one of the best places for good food in the area. They could offer more desserts made with fresh, local fruit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sannefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The food was well prepared and well presented -the room is small and too crowded for my taste but the quality of the meal made up for it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank threedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duckworth's Bistrot also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Duckworth's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing