We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
60
54
52
19
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
54
52
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mile marker indoor pool wicked tuna watch the boats chowder boats coming and going beds were comfortable great taste great lunch haddock lobster roll love this place shared balcony a great place to stay great view checking out new england
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed for a weekend recently. Although the weather was cold the folks that work there definitely were not. It was off-season so there was not allot of activity in the marina and the outside deck was closed.
As for the accommodations, If you are looking for a pristine facility, this is NOT a good option. They were working on updates and the newer beds were comfortable. The bathroom needed some bleach. There was mold and mildew in the room and rust on the chrome fixtures. It is clear that the housekeeper does not do his/her job. But then again, if the management doesn't do quality assurance then ...
There is a combination of tile and carpet in the room. The rug is dark brown and well worn. I would not walk barefoot in there. The furniture is dated but usable and the TV is a 20 inch yet LCD. The outer deck is very old and could definitely use a power wash at the very least.

Room Tip: Upper level is where the views are.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandCadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is not a 5 start resort and neither does it pretend to be. I was in Gloucester for a week recently and need somewhere reasonably close to the town centre, that was comfortable, good location, good food and had WiFi. On all those counts I rate this picturesque establishment excellent. If you need somewhere in Gloucester...I highly recommend The Cape Ann Marina Resort

Room Tip: Get a room looking east over the marina. Nice boat and estuary views. Large and comfortable rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WhaleWatchWestCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Gloucester is good distance to go from Boston for a weekend trip and not spend much time in the car. The facilities at Cape Ann's Marina Resort are excellent. There is an indoor pool with a bar that has plenty of space. The food at the restaurant is top notch and seems like a draw for locals. Views of the marina are good from both the restaurant and the rooms. The bar has good live music at night and gets packed.

I prefer to park the car and leave it while on vacation and walk everywhere if possible, and this is a bit of a stretch with the location of the hotel. It's about a 25-30 minute walk to the start of downtown, but about halfway there you start to walk along the water, by the famous fisherman statue, next to a good beach so if you're up for a casual stroll and can ignore the fist stretch on a more industrial main road, it's doable.

Downtown has some very good restaurants at all ends of the price range and just on the other side of it is Good Harbor beach (as good a beach spot as there is in MA), which fills up early so it's nice to be close.

Overall, the room is standard but had enough space for a couple and a baby in a bassinet and the other facilities at the hotel and attractions in the area make it so you don't need to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaze16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The 2nd fl has been done over. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and the view of the marina was nice. We stayed here last year and the updating really has made a difference. Bathroom was clean and the indoor pool and jacuzzi was clean. No complaints here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyL996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked a room here in Gloucester, MA because it was the closest we could get to Haunted Happenings events in Salem, MA. We arrived about 9pm and the entrance to the hotel office was not well marked. You pull into the marina and have to make your way through obstacles to get to the accommodations at the back of the lot. When we arrived, live music was blasting from the bar lounge. The check-in process was fairly quick. Our room was on the third floor. There was no elevator. We dragged our bags up the three flights of stairs. The room was average. Two double beds and the beds were very firm. Microwave. Fridge. Coffee maker. Free Wi-Fi was nice and easy to get onto and did not require a password. We were surprised how small the flat screen TV was...MAYBE 24" television. The bathroom needed some attention. The door didn't close very well and it was probably due to the poor ventilation in there. The fan in the bathroom did a poor job clearing the steam from the shower. The faucet in the bathroom was kind of funky...the hot water handle turned the water on in either direction...there was no hard stop so you had to find just the right spot to turn the handle to turn off the water. The toilet cover was missing one of the knobs. They provided plenty of towels. The air conditioner worked fine. The deck overlooking the water runs the length of the hotel, so it is not private. The room was small for the price we paid. We could hear the live music in the lounge very well, which was disappointing. The most annoying part of the stay was that we could hear every single person walking and slamming doors all night. Not happy about that at all. The room was clean. We did not eat at the restaurant. For the price we paid, we expected a clean, quiet, comfortable room. If we need to stay in Gloucester again, we will explore other accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptmd2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews