We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second time is the charm!”

Capt Bill & Sons Whale Watch
Ranked #3 of 27 Tours in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Capt. Bill & Sons Whale Watch is a small, family-owned and operated, whale watch company out of Gloucester MA. We take pride in giving the best whale watch tours North of Boston. Join us at Capt. Bills for a 4 hour whale watch trip you will never forget! Each trip is fully narrated by a marine biologist from the Blue Ocean Society, who will teach you all you need to know about these majestic marine mammals and other sea life. Sightings Guaranteed!
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“second time is the charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Best whale watch ever! Wish we had gone here first! Next year we will be back!
Great staff! very friendly. will be back next summer! We LOVED watching the whales feed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Li a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    27
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
203 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

What an amazing experience. Mind you, don't expect to see whales breaching out like you see on commercials and brochures. That is a once in a lifetime sight. Nevertheless, it is a experience worthy of your time. The crew was friendly and will do their best to look for the whales they have food and snacks to purchase on board, including beer and wine. Checkout any Groupon deals, like we did

Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellefonte
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Whale watching!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked a whale watching tour with Capt. Bill and Sons Whale Watch. It was an amazing adventure. The tour was 4 hours long. It took an hour to get to the whales' feeding area where we were not disappointed. The very knowledgable guide told us about the different types of whales and where to look for them. At one point she just said "LOOK ANYWHERE, YOU CAN'T MISS THEM". There were MANY whales all around the boat and in the distance. It was exciting to see so many of them and so close. The captain turned the boat so everyone could get a view of all the whales so it didn't matter which side of the boat you sat on. After watching for about 2 hours, we headed back to port. The fresh air and views along the way were great too. The boat was clean and had refreshments in the galley. The crew was very friendly and helpful. Great tour and highly recommended for adults and children. They offer a
free return trip if you don't see any whales. Fortunately, we didn't have to worry about that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 50Pat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Whale Watch trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Capt. Bills is a great whale watching trip. We saw lots of whales off Stellwagon Bank. The captain of the ship drove up close to the whales so we could be a part of the pod of 5-6 whales. The crew was very informative and answered all our questions. We stayed among the whales for about an hour and a half.The ship was very accomodating with snacks and comforts. There is a small museum and gift shop where you can add to your whale education and experience. Parking is free and there is a park next door where you can picnic prior to your trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersport, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“would do it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

we loved the whale watching trip on 7/17/14. We had reservations for 7/16. I called in the morning and was told the trip was still on.. a few hours later they said the fog moved in and our afternoon trip was cancelled....was very pleased with the advanced notice as we had a 2 hour drive there. I asked if we could transfer our reservations to the next day.. .there was no problem. We saw 2 species of whales and a rare basking shark. The captain was very attentive about turning the boat so all visitors could view the whales. on the way bake we saw a pod of dolphins the captain circled to see if they would play in our wake. It was a great trip

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaOH04102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capt Bill & Sons Whale Watch also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Capt Bill & Sons Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing