We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend get away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospect Mountain Campground
2 reviews
“Great weekend get away!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My family and I decided to get away for the weekend (we live in Boston). We found prospect mountain online and decided to give it a shot since it was only 2.5 hours away. I am so glad we did! The check in was quick and we got a tent site by one of the ponds. The view of the ponds was gorgeous and was great to wake up next to. On Saturday, there was a Vegas night being held by the campground. We all had a blast playing the games and watching the prizes be drawn. All the staff members were very attentive and did not seem bothered by our numerous questions. We met the owners who were very nice and made us feel welcomed. The facilities were kept clean, especially considering how busy the campground was! The pool was well kept and we had a great time utilizing it! All in all it was a great weekend and we will definitely be coming back! I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhr617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect_Mtn, Manager at Prospect Mountain Campground, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hi Mhr,

Thank you so much for your compliments, feedback, and recommendation! We're very happy you had such a good time with us for our Las Vegas Weekend. Hopefully you won one of the prizes but, if not, it's great to hear you had a blast anyway! Thank you again for your kind words and your business and we look forward to having you camp with us next time!

-Greg, Manager, Prospect Mtn Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Granville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We visited some friends at this campground a couple of weekends ago and it was horrible. Like another camper mentioned here on Trip Advisor, there is dog poop everywhere! In walking the grounds there was litter scattered all over the grounds. I would not let my daughter use the bathroom as it was so dirty! The help in the store was also very unprofessional and when we walked in they never even looked up to acknowledge or greet us. Once we got to the desk a young man looked up from his cell phone and then said hello. Lots of campers played music quite loudly which also made it very difficult for the younger kids to sleep. The mini golf is at best run down and not worth the $4 per game. We will not return to this campground as it is not family oriented and there is obviously no pride in the ownership of this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect_Mtn, Manager at Prospect Mountain Campground, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hi Dawn,

We're sorry you had such an unpleasant visit. We do try our best to keep our campground clean and we make several rounds every day to pick up after our campers and their pets since we know some people forget to do so themselves. Likewise, we also do several checks on the bathrooms between the two daily scheduled cleanings to make sure they remain presentable throughout the day. As for our campers playing their music too loud, please allow me to apologize on their behalf. We do have strict quiet hours but throughout the day music volume should be kept low as our rules explain. I sincerely wish you had brought any of these problems to the attention of our staff so that we could address them and make our guests' stay more comfortable. To the contrary of your statement, we take a lot of pride in our business and work very long hours to maintain our property and are more than happy to fix any problems that somehow slip past us. We're very sorry that we didn't have the opportunity to address your concerns and fix them for you.

-Greg, Prospect Mountain Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This place is the worst. Dog feces everwhere, better watch where you step...I got it on me. Did not feel comfortable with our young children running around because of the fecal matter in the fields etc...

The people that run it, not sure if they own it, are very rude, and have a poor attitude. They really need to learn about customer service. It's almost as if they do not have enough employees to keep up with the customers needs.

We definitely would not return again, but it was worth a shot. Lot of things are run down and overall has an outdated feel. It is in a good area, far off the beaten path, great for hiking or sightseeing the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CamperRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect_Mtn, Manager at Prospect Mountain Campground, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hi Ron,

I'm sorry to hear you had problems with dog waste during your stay. We do clean-ups throughout the day for both trash and droppings, since we know that unfortunately some owners 'forget' to pick up after their pets. I apologize that you had the misfortune of finding that particular 'present' before we did.

I also apologize if any employees came off as being rude as that is certainly not what we expect of any of our staff. We try our best to make sure each customer is treated with courtesy, respect, and a smile! We're sorry if one of our crew even momentarily forgot that.

If you'd like to get in touch with me personally by email or some other method I'd be happy to discuss more with you and see if there's anything we can do to make it up to you. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you!

-Greg, Manager, Prospect Mountain Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, MA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

It's a long 2-1/2 hours from the Boston area, but worth the trip.

Prospect Mountain has a variety of accommodations, from camping sites to full cabins with appliances, showers and bathrooms. My son, knowing my addiction to morning showers, took a 2-room cabin. The one big common room had a queen sized mattress; the other, 4 bunk beds.

All was comfortable, parking convenient outside cabin. Huge frig, great gas stove, hot water for shower. Only points off - no sink except for the kitchen one - could have been one in the bathroom-shower area, but wasn't. Plenty of dishes, utensils.

Office has reasonably priced items you may forget, ice cream - even $3 hamburgers (not tested). People running office could not be nicer.

Lots of little activities to keep the kids busy; pool seemed to be getting lots of action, as did a small miniature golf course.

Definitely a return visit.

Room Tip: If you are not an enthusiastic tent person - especially if a woman's of that perspective - get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_StonehamMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect_Mtn, Manager at Prospect Mountain Campground, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Hi Mel,

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry about the missing sink in the bathroom. We have actually been looking at finding a way to squeeze one in there so hopefully on your next visit you'll have that too! We really appreciate all your kind words and your recommedation and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank you and take care!

-Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYork,NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 room cabin (cabin 5) with husband & dog for 4 days. There were many activities within the campground to keep us busy. From arcades, miniature golf to campground led activities like wheelbarrow race. Greg and his staff were great with questions regarding hikes close to the facility. All campers & seasonals were courteous,friendly & adhered to quiet time rules. As far as the cabin had lovely kitchenette and breakfast nook. Also had working restroom & fan ventilation. Outside had a picnic table, fire ring & bbq grill. We could hear the crickets from the nearby lake while we drank a hot cocoa by the fire. Would definitely recommend for families because of the amount of activities to keep kids busy. Would recommend to hikers because of Granville State Forest & the gorge nearby. Just a few gems nearby for hiking which are also dog friendly. This could also be used as the last leg or beginning to discovering the Berkshires.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cy0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect_Mtn, Manager at Prospect Mountain Campground, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hi CY0079!

Thank you so much for your wonderful recommendation of our campground! I'm very happy to hear you had such a good time while staying in the cabin. We'd love to have you back any time you want to visit the area. Thank you once more for your feedback and compliments and we look forward to seeing you again! Have a great day!

-Greg, PMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at Prospect Mountain Campground with myself, my husband, our two children, two adult friends, and their 1 year old. Our site was great, it was large and while on the main road did not feel like it because the trees surrounding the site and made it quite private.

The site was made more for a camper then a tent like we used. It was very rocky and uneven. The fire pit was a nice size although it was a tight squeeze because it was closer to the trees so people couldn't sit all around it.

The campground staff was very friendly and there were lots of activities. The store has a ton of things and they are actually reasonably priced when they don't have to be.

Unfortunately it decided to rain throughout the duration of our stay. It was not good so we left early and had to pay for the site and $10 for the extra people. I was told I'd get a refund on the extra people but they never added it to my card.

There was lots of noise at night. Someone was blaring a horn of some sort, possibly to scare away a bear but not something really wanted at 11-12 at night.

Overall, we might go back. We didn't get to explore or do much of anything while there, but it is GREAT for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notjstanothrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect_Mtn, Manager at Prospect Mountain Campground, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Hi notjstanothrmom,
Thank you for all the feedback. It's very important to us to make sure our campers are happy with their stay. I'm pleased you enjoyed the size and privacy of your campsite and that overall you thought it was great. Please keep in mind too that we're more than happy to accommodate requests for specific sites or site changes whenever possible if there is something not to your liking, as each of our campsites has its own unique feel and we know everyone has a different favorite site. Though our cancellation policy doesn't allow for rain-related cancellations, I'm very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused and if you would like to give us a call or email I'd definitely be happy to investigate that $10 charge so that I can make sure that refundable fee didn't accidentally get overlooked. I also apologize for the noise you experienced at night. I do remember one night over the summer where a camper was honking their horn with a bit too much enthusiasm to scare off an animal by the dumpster, but I can certainly assure you it is not an everyday occurrence. We do several rounds at night to enforce quiet time and we are happy to address any noise issues brought to our attention, so please don't hesitate to let us know of problems no matter how late it is. I'm glad you had a good time with our activities, and we would love to have you stay with us again this summer to have even more fun so please keep us in mind when you're thinking about your next camping trip! Thank you again for the feedback and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great staff that are friendly and knowledgeable. Lots to do for kids but if your not camping with kids it is also not over run by them. Kid free adult swim times, every game imaginable, and most unbelievable... Friendly Seasonal campers. Never have I been camping where even the seasonal's are friendly. Unbelievable natural setting. Other than the floors that get Sandy as soon as someone walks in the bathroom's are clean. The bath houses have water as hot as you want. The porta potties that are in several locations are emptied regularly, always stocked and auto light when you enter. The grounds are quiet after 11:00PM. This is a family campground with a good old fashioned feeling. Not a Resort party spot. It has all the newer amenities but non of the over priced crowded hype. It is huge and beautiful. I plan to go back many times to come and this was my first time at Prospect Mountian Campground. We camped as 2 adults in a tent.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wistira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect_Mtn, Manager at Prospect Mountain Campground, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Hi Wistira,
Thank you so much for all your kind words about our campground. We do our best to keep our facilities clean and well-maintained and our campers happy and having fun. And we do have some truly awesome seasonal campers which it sounds like you must have met. Thank you again and have an amazing winter, before coming back to visit us this summer of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville
24.2 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield
24.5 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
142 reviews
17.0 mi away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
11.3 mi away
White Pines Campsites
White Pines Campsites
#2 of 2 in Barkhamsted
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Mountain Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Mountain Campground

Property: Prospect Mountain Campground
Address: 1349 Main Rd, Route 57, Granville, MA 01034
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Granville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Granville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Prospect Mountain Campground we offer a family atmosphere with non-stop fun while enjoying the great outdoors. Nestled in the foothills of the Berkshires, at 1,300 ft our natural setting is sure to delight every camper. Whether in a tent or a 40 ft big rig RV our spacious wooded sites will accommodate you. We also offer rustic cabin rentals for those without equipment or who don't wish to "rough it". We're pet-friendly too because we know camping isn't the same without every member of your family, even the dog! We're a family owned and operated campground, so we know what our campers are looking for in their summer vacation getaway. With themed weekends and daily activities we keep the fun rolling! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing