We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific little gem!”

Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mahaiwe Theater opened in September 1905 and is one of the oldest surviving theaters in the country. In its early years, the theater presented touring vaudeville acts and performers such as John Philip Sousa. It was transformed into a movie palace in 1930 and has been in continuous operation for over 100 years. Celebrated for its splendid acoustics, the theatre has played an important role in the life of the area.The Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center was formed in December 2002 and launched its first six-month presenting season with a Centennial Celebration in May 2005. The theater has been newly restored, with great attention to historical detail, at a cost of over $9 million. The restoration was overseen by noted architect, Hugh Hardy, with engineering and construction by skilled Berkshire craftspeople and artisans. The theater is a recipient of support from Save America’s Treasures, the historical restoration has been certified by the Massachusetts Historical Commission and the National Park Service. In addition, The Mahaiwe is now listed on the National Register of Historic Places!The Mahaiwe is now a unique year-round performing arts center presenting music, dance, theater, opera, and classic films in the southern Berkshires. The theater seats almost 700 audience members. We have brought hundreds of live events as well as classic films, and the Metropolitan Opera “Live in HD” broadcasts to the theater’s stage and screen as well as hosted dozens of performances presented by others. The Mahaiwe strives to welcome the broadest possible community into our theater on an ongoing basis.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Terrific little gem!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I don't know what me so long to get to this venue, but I sure am glad I finally made it! What a beautiful little theater! It is very small and intimate; smaller than the Bardavon in Poughkeepsie. That is a good thing because it makes all seats good seats. The seats were comfortable enough and there is a wide range of entertainment. Something for everyone. I can't wait to go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater - free vaudville event for kids”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Our first time to this venue and would definitely be back. We attended a free children's event introducing kids to silent movies and live vaudeville theater. The show by circustheatrics.com was wonderful. The main actor had the most wonderful personality and was great with the kids. After the show, the kids were able to learn some of the tricks, such as rhythm sticks and balancing a feather. Thanks so much Mahaiwe for offering this wonderful afternoon for our family!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CyndieMcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Paul Taylor Dance Company”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It was great. The theater has recently been renovated, all the seating gives a good view of the stage, and the offerings are excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I always enjoy going to a show at the Mahaiwe. I don't think that there is a bad seat in the house, and the acoustics are great. They have many wonderful offerings for all tastes. Truly a gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PattyR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Live from the Met in HD”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fantastic way to see live metropolitan opera performances, plus interviews with the stars Take a peek backstage, see the set changes, and costumes. Great seating, sound, and price. Sure beats the hassle of going into Manhattan, fighting traffic, crowds and paying high prices. This is a true joy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank moniquethecritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing