We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hike”
Review of Monument Mountain

Monument Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ascend this popular peak, which once drew 19th-century literary giants, and from its summit gaze across the spectacular landscapes of the Housatonic River Valley.
Nanuet, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful hike”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a wonderful hiking experience at Monument Mountain. We took this hike on a beautiful Saturday morning. The fall foliage added to the great experience. It was a little strenuous as we got to the rocky summit but the views were well worth it. We were able to complete the trail walk in about 2 1/2 hours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    70
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
812 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Monument Mountain”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Well worth the almost 3 hour hike round trip. The views up top were amazing. We could see a profile on one of the rocks that resembled The Old Man In The Mountain.We actually saw a football game going on below.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibird50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Last Minute Hike”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Monument Mountain is conveniently located SW Mass (Great Barrington); an easy drive from CT. It's much closer than Mount Greylock (where we had planned to go) and still satisfies that urge to get outdoors and explore. Additionally, it is full of history. There is a plaque and brochure describing how Nathaniel Hawthorne, Oliver Wendell Holmes and Herman Melville found refuge in a cave, inspiring Melville to write Moby Dick. You can find this same cave on the Hickey Trail. There are 2 loops of trails to hike, that both culminate at the summit with options to hike more strenuous rocks. All ages and abilities will find something fun to hike and explore at Monument Mtn. There are also picnic tables to have lunch at and rest.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MMingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hike, gorgeous view”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The host at our B&B recommended Monument Mountain for a quick, rigorous late afternoon hike. It was perfect. We climbed the steeper trail, which was a good workout. There were plenty of people on the trail and tons of dogs. A very lively, fun place. And the view from the top (which we reached in less than an hour was pretty impressive. This is not an all-day event but it was ideal for our first afternoon in Stockbridge and helped us work up an appetite for dinner at Theresa's Cafe.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ABGateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandisfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hike”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We live locally and do alot of hiking. Fall is a wonderful time to hike Monument Mountain - the views will not disappoint.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 571Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monument Mountain also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Monument Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing