We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hike with Great Summit Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monument Mountain

Monument Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ascend this popular peak, which once drew 19th-century literary giants, and from its summit gaze across the spectacular landscapes of the Housatonic River Valley.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Hike with Great Summit Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our first visit and we had a good afternoon hike. The mountain has a 1600 foot summit with beautiful 360 views on a clear day. We found the hike challenging at times with sections of steep inclines, ledges and slick quartzite and roots to navigate. The views on Squaw Peak were well worth the work to get there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    68
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice hike done it many times as a kid and adult. Always great. Any season. Nice views. Be in some kind of shape

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Depending on you skill level this can be a great hike. Some steep trails but the online maps are very helpful. The views at the top are lovely.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank upstate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Challenging Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We hiked the entire trail and the trip up to the top was challenging and beautiful. Picturesque waterfalls and a fantastic view at the top.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

wonderful 2.5 hours to the top and back. I think we may have taken a little detour, but it was terrific. just challenging enough. good for all ages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JillWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monument Mountain also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Monument Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing