We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not what we booked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    74
    72
    30
    29
See reviews for
85
70
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Let's start with the positive because I would like to see this place improve. It made me feel like it is a good "fixer upper" that just needs some work: New looking, clean bathrooms. New looking and clean wet bar with excellent mini fridge and microwave, plenty of cabinet space. New looking and comfortable sofa bed. Comfortable regular bed. Good location within walking distance to some excellent restaurants (including Aegean Breeze highly recommended). Continental breakfast with waffle-maker included. Very nice staff members. AC/Heating units looked new and worked very well. WIFI was excellent with no password needed. No icky smells.

Now for the negative: The place looks very dumpy from the outside, carpeting appeared old. Some of the furniture was scratched and junky. Weeds mixed in with some beautiful flowers and plants. I felt like I wanted to get in there and do some weeding so the adorable mini roses and other lovely plants were showcased properly. And here is the worst part: We had a suite and there was no other seating besides the sofa bed and desk chair and no table to put anything on. If you want to watch TV and enjoy a snack/beverage it was pretty impossible to do it comfortably. And speaking of the TV, it was one of the old fashioned types, albeit plenty large enough screen and cable worked well. On a related note, the remote control did not work for the TV. We asked for another one and were never brought one that works. No TV in bedroom portion of the suite and no door separating bedroom from living area. The pool looked like it had not been cleaned in a few days.

Overall, MUCH too "casual" and too many flaws for the price we paid ($160 for one bed suite with sofa bed and wet bar). I realize that hotel rooms are very costly in the Great Barrington/Berkshires but I was at least expecting another piece of furniture/table to put something on and a working remote. I would have been OK paying $110-$120 for the clean accommodations but $160 for a room like we had (without a table or additional chair) was just too much no matter what the market will "bear."

I will say that this place has a lot of "potential" and I sincerely hope the owners keep fixing it up. IT looks like they are trying to improve it. I did see some better looking rooms through some open doors as I walked around.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with a newer bathroom and other facilities. I know our room looked like i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beds and carpets were clean. Bathroom fixtures were clean. Yellow mold on outside of bathroom door and more in the corners. Old school TV with broken remote. Breakfast was stale bagels and english muffins and OJ the kids wouldn't even drink, actually tossed all the food and went next door to Price Chopper on the way out of town. It was cleanish and cheap but I'm glad we were only there for 9 hours. Was 86 an night should of spent the 130 for the HIE.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Barrington hotels

1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed here in April 2014 for one night. Staff was very friebdly and helpful. The rooms are clean, a little outdated but a great value for the price. I would stay here again. I booked the room over hotwire.com

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_herzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WynGuestRelation, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, we know how busy everyone is and appreciate the time you took to post this. And you have caught on to our secret; we firmly believe that clean rooms and great service are what we need to focus on. Your are very right, it is the people that make the difference and enable us to be among the top!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Travelodge in Great Barrington was comfortable, clean, and welcoming. We only stayed one night, but the staff was very helpful (especially when we asked for extra pillows), and our room was just right for this overnight visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WynGuestRelation, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for the review! We really appreciate your business and the extra time you took to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 9 in Great Barrington
176 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
994 reviews
8.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires

Property: Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires
Address: 400 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-9513 (Formerly Barrington Court Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Travel Lodge Great Barrington
Great Barrington Travelodge
Great Barrington Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing