We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(On it's way to) #1 place to stay in Great Barrington”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I say "on it's way" b/c the new owners are busy at work renovating and making changes to turn this motel into an awesome and unique B & B style. The renovated room we had was perfect and the hospitality was awesome. I never felt like I was staying in a place under change. It was quiet, close to town, clean and so so friendly and warm. We felt like they were friends- We will be back for sure and recommend it highly. Price was right too!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Briarcliff Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

The new owners of the Briarcliff have made strong strides in bringing this charmingly-retro motor court into the twenty-first century. New paint, fixtures, and furnishings give the rooms a light, snappy feel, and the service and continental breakfast are first rate -- and there is still more to come. The proprietors have an excellent vision for the enterprise, and the experience they offer is a relief from the over-priced high-end inns of the area and the uneven quality and cleanliness of many of the nearby motels. They are also delightful conversationalists. The Briarcliff is a hidden gem in Great Barrington, well worth searching out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustyjones1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

What a lovely surprise. A classic '60s motel had been bought by a wonderful English couple who are transforming it into a super New England B & B. They were so accommodating with our dog, with our bikes, with local directions and info. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgoldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I really enjoyed staying here. My room was recently renovated and still smelled brand new. The owners are a delightful couple from the UK and I really enjoyed the "pet' wild turkeys that roamed freely behind the building.

A very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmvfrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We were delighted to stay at the "new" Briarcliff Motel in Great Barrington. Under the new ownership, the motel is now more like a "bed and breakfast" experience BUT with privacy! Clare and Richard could not have been more accomodating and the room was just what anyone would need - comfortable bedding, clean and quiet....and the TV was nice too! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesamy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

What a find! On a quick weekend trip we attempted to save some money by staying at a motel over the NY board...bad move. Couldn't get away from that place fast enough the next morning, but had no reservation for our second night. Combed the area and surrounding villages to no avail, but kept driving by the Briarcliff with the "new owner" sign in front. Since we were aiming to hike Monument Mountain that day anyway, we decided to explore the Briarcliff on a whim and no further did we need go! The new owners, Clare and Richard Proctor, welcomed us with the warmth of age-old friends reuniting after years apart; made apologies for the dark and heavy decor of the soon-to-be renovated rooms; inspired us with a pictorial of what the rooms would eventually look like; shared their longer term conceptual vision and dream for this up and coming gem of modern yet rustic B & B that will hopefully play host to a vast and diverse community of repeat visitors for years to come; gave us a HUGE discount since they were in transition at that time; made reservations for us at a wonderful eatery for dinner; pointed the way to another amazing meal for our departing brunch the next day; and truly inspired us to put Greater Barrington on our list of "let's go there again" places! They are moving thru the renovation process with the speed and focus of a Tour de France cyclist, and based on the recent photos we've seen, we are knocked out by the changes they've made in the less than 2 short months since our stay there. We love, love, LOVE this place and cannot wait to visit with Clare and Richard again, again, and again! So don't think twice. You've found a place to call your home away from home in Great Barrington. And be sure to ask these warm and generous proprietors about their plans for the magical land that this unique Euro/American/Modern/Rustic B & B Motel rests upon...a setting for myriad new stories to emerge and be shared over time. Enjoy. We most certainly did!

Room Tip: Simply ask to see the available rooms when you arrive. If they are not already occupied, Clare and...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogiathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

New owners are attentive and accommodating and room was clean and newly renovated. Great coffee in the morning too!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abloomleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
6.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,037 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#5 of 10 in Great Barrington
684 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
379 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1296
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range: £90 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st-century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing