We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would happily stay here again”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Briarcliff Motel looks at first like your traditional motor inn, but it's been transformed into a modern-yet-cozy sort of B&B. Claire and Richard had excellent suggestions for places to eat, the best roads to take, and anything else we didn't even know we wanted to know. We stayed in one of the updated rooms (apparently the motel is gradually being renovated throughout), and it was perfect--clean, contemporary, and bright, right down to the bathroom. Beds were super comfortable, and the property was quiet (the rooms are set far back from the road, and surrounded on all sides by mountains and woods). Breakfast was served in the main room--simple but yummy, including homemade granola and great coffee. We couldn't be happier with out stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

The renovated room was very hip - flat screen TV and comfortable bed too. Motel in good location. The proprietors are overall terrifc but especially in making restaurant/sight seeing suggestions. Would highly recommend it. They also let us stay for one night as opposed to most hotels/motels in the area which require at least a two night minimum.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We planned a trip to Tanglewood and was looking for a place to stay for one night. Most of the B&B's were high priced and there was a minimum 2 night stay. The Briarcliff Motel turned out to be the perfect place. The rooms were recently renovated, clean, quiet and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast and met several other couples who also went to Tanglewood the previous evening. The owners made every effort to make our stay pleasant and were very helpful suggesting places to dine in the area. We definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed there for a wedding at Stockbridge and found that Briarcliff Motel is very conveniently located.
Claire was very friendly and accessible.
It was not a Four-Seasons-like luxury hotel, but with the price we paid, we were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ys298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Briarcliff Motel on Route 7 in Great Barrington, MA is truly a gem!

I had needed a room for just one night after a Tanglewood concert, and I decided to be frugal.... "just a clean bed and a shower". To my surprise, what I received instead completely exceeded my expectations. Who would have thought?

Instead of a "cheap room", I was granted a spotless room with a new bathroom, as well as a continental breakfast including coffee, granola, muffins and fresh fruit! The granola with vanilla yogurt and the local Great Barrington Coffee were both excellent!

Room furnishings, bedding, and bath fixtures were all wisely chosen... and the new TV was small but adequate. Decor was pleasingly simple... clean and crisp. Bath fixtures were new and functioned perfectly, and the shower was more than adequate. Bed was also VERY comfortable!

The new AC was perfect although unnecessary, since a cool cross-breeze brought in the sweet smell of the woods... which brings me to yet another valid point: the location! Just north of town, the Inn was conveniently close to town yet quiet and peaceful.

The setting is serene... nothing across the street except trees, and the large front yard was meticulously kept, providing also for a sufficient set back to reduce road noise. To the sides, and in the rear yard, is more neatly trimmed grass and woods. Beautiful!

New owners Clare and Richard are doing a great job shedding the stigma of this once-dated motel and are transforming it into a first-rate B&B. They are friendly and helpful, and even helped me to recover a misplaced credit card I had left at a nearby gas station. Thanks guys!

I hear that further transformations are under way, and I can't wait to see the results. I will definitely be back to the Briarcliff for my next visit to the Berkshires!

Clare, you were right. The fantastic burgers at the Brick House Pub were worth a detour on our way home. "Spot on", once again!

Thank You!

Room Tip: At the time of this writing, I believe the room renovations are not yet complete. So be sure to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a night during Tanglewood, and were extremely lucky to find a room at the last minute. Clare, and her husband Richard, could not have been more welcoming and helpful during our stay, recommending an amazing wine & cheese shop, bookshops, cafes etc. The motel is undergoing refurbishment and all of the new rooms were booked, so we stayed in one of the older rooms. It was a very typical old-fashioned motel room (basic room, lots of florals), but comfortable and not too expensive. We're really looking forward to trying one of the new rooms, as they sound fantastic. The breakfast was very satisfying - muffins, granola, teas & coffee, fruit... We'll definitely be back next year during Tanglewood, this time booking a lot more in advance! Thank you, Clare and Richard!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed several nights at the Briarcliff. Clare and Richard were wonderful hosts, excellent local knowledge and they made sure we had everything we needed to make the most of our stay. The rooms were clean, comfortable and inviting. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedlaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
6.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,056 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
382 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
494 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1296
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Great Barrington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range: £75 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st-century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing