We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!!!”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem!!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Briarcliff is a gem of a motel in the beautiful Berkshires!! Arranging our stay was very easy, and as we were bringing our two dogs, a lucky find as pet-friendly is sometimes hard to find. Rooms are beautifully simple and very cozy. The breakfast is AMAZING, fresh baked scones, organic yogurt, homemade granola, apple cider and more. Richard and Clare are great hosts and so helpful. Highly recommend the Briarcliff and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeh1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    84
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
133
219
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location was great. And proprietors were super helpful, printing out route maps and go giving advice. The baked goods, eggs, and fixins for breakfast were also tasty and plentiful. But for the price, the room was a bit bare and basic. That being said, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in July 2013, as part of a road trip from Boston to Washington, DC.

We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon and were met by Kate, the charming Duty Manager, who was tending to vegetables in the extensive gardens to the rear. She checked us in using the latest mobile technology, e-mailed our receipt and showed us to room 10. Easy!

Our room had just been recently refurbished and looked brand new. Everything was spick and span and the décor was modern but still very practical. We had a fridge, flat screen TV, seating area and sufficient storage for our short stay. The bed linen was classy and the bed was extremely comfortable – we has just come from the Langham in Boston that is world renowned for its ‘Langham Blissful Beds’, and I can assure you we slept better in the Briarcliff’s beds! The bathroom was well laid out and was spotlessly clean, just like the whole motel was.

The main reception area is the heart of the Briarcliff Motel and this is also where breakfast is served each day. This was a beautiful spread and included warm, fresh scones, croissants, granola, yogurt, fruit, tea, coffee and fresh juice. In the evening we were able to help ourselves to tea and coffee and could have easily chilled out for a while with a beer or a glass of wine if we had wanted to. Ambient background music was on and the lighting was dimmed for relaxing and winding down in. The notice board promoted local events and places of interest and is well worth checking out.

You will very likely get the chance to meet Richard & Claire, the owners. They are a lovely couple who were keen to talk and you will definitely get a tip or two to enhance your stay in the Berkshires. They are clearly passionate about their property and are still investing – when we were there the front garden area was being remodelled with the addition of seating and fire pits which must be superb any time of year but perhaps particularly in the colder months. We also loved that they were passionate about Great Barrington and the surrounding area. They use local people, local produce and recommend local attractions, restaurants and bars. When we were in town and we said where we were staying locals knew Richard and Claire (and Kate) and were extremely complimentary. It’s that sort of praise that’s hard to describe on TripAdvisor, but you’ll understand what I mean when you stay.

The location is ideal for those with a car – a few minutes from Great Barrington and central to everything else. We came from the south via the beautiful Litchfield Hills in Connecticut, toured north through the Berkshires and then spent a very enjoyable afternoon in South Vermont in Bennington, Hogback Mountain NP and Brattleboro. I expect that Boston is only two hours if you take the Mass Pike and we had reached the outskirts of New York City within just over two hours when it was unfortunately time for us to leave.

Great Barrington was just lovely and from all the Berkshire towns we saw I’m very glad we stayed here. The Main Street and adjacent Railroad Street are packed with restaurants, bars and shops and we had two very enjoyable nights out, firstly in Baba Louie’s and secondly in 20 Railroad. We also really enjoyed Rubiner’s cheese shop for little treats and stocked up on a few premium beers from the world class selection in Domaney’s Liquors just at the State Road Bridge.

We loved the Briarcliff Motel and Great Barrington so much that we bought our friends a weekend break as a wedding gift and it we’re back in the area we’ll definitely return.

In summary: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Briarcliff Motel over Labor Day. The modern, clean and sophisticated motel exceded our expectations. The delicious breakfast and the wonderful company of owners Richard and Clare were icing on the cake! We will be back soon. Highly recommend a trip to the Berkshires and a stay at this lovely motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed there recently when we attended a show at Tanglewood. I found Briarcliff online somehow, can't remember exactly where and had been really wanting to stay there. Very fun idea, all the joy of my childhood vacations staying in motels, wrapped up in a modern bed & breakfast experience. Fantastic! I love being able to park in front of our room. We were in a king-sized bed and found the mattress extremely comfortable, firm and I was not disturbed at all when my partner would shift positions in his sleep. The bathroom was nice, clean, but the half wall in the shower stall was not sufficient and we ended up with some water on the floor no matter how we positioned the shower head. And it would be nice to have a shelf of some kind in the shower so we could have a place for shampoo bottles, face wash etc. Anyone staying longer than a few nights might find the lack of storage space a bit daunting, you would have to live out of your suitcase, but we were there just one night, so it was fine for us.

Now the great parts! First are Clare and Richard. Both very welcoming and engaging and helpful. Second was the nicely sized fridge in the room. We were pleasantly surprised at this and very happy to find it included a small freezer just the right size to re-freeze our ice packs for the next day. Excellent. And the third cannot be repeated enough, the breakfast was SUPERB. Hard boiled eggs, homemade muffins, scones and granola all were delicious. The local yogurt was perfect with the granola and Clare very kindly made us a truly good french press of decaf coffee when we asked. Normally the coffee, especially for us non-caffeine drinkers, is dreadful. This was better than a lot of coffee I get at local shops.

We loved the location and feel of the place, it was a nice ride to Tanglewood for us, but be forewarned, the Briarcliff is NOT located right in a downtown. It is on a well-traveled road, but there aren't restaurants right next door and being that it is in the Berkshires, which are known for being rural and quaint, there is not a lot of street lighting. We loved this part, but if you are expecting a slightly more "urban" downtown feel, you will be disappointed. Definitely returning there soon and will stay more than one night this time. Thank you, Richard and Clare!! You have a wonderful spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

It's a cool concept, and certainly better than your average chain, but I *wanted* to like this place more than I actually did.

It's a ways outside of town, halfway between GB and Stockbridge, so you can't walk anywhere and the front yard area -- which has a gas fire pit and picnic tables -- is pitch dark and feels very remote for a city kid. Like a bear, or a serial killer dressed like a bear, may pop out of the woods at any point.

But my bigger gripe is with the tall pillows and firm bed combo. I like a firm bed since I sleep on my back, but the pillows are so huge it hurts your neck to even try it. Your only option is to sleep on your side but the mattress is so firm it's like camping. Anyway I didn't sleep well.

Breakfast was really nice and provided the only chance to meet some other people and approach something like a B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBriar, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Sorry you didn't sleep well, Jon. We think a good night's sleep is vital, so we invest in high quality Serta plush top mattresses with medium cushioning. As travellers, we're also particular about pillows and understand how important they are. As innkeepers, though, we hope you won't mind if we review the reviewer. As an unpaid travel writer, which at 27 reviews you are, you have a responsibility to test people like us. When you get into a room, check out the pillows, and if you're not happy with them, request alternatives. Good places will be able to offer a choice, and we include ourselves in that. If we treat your request lightly, or can't deliver, maybe that's the time to be critical.

There's not much we can do about the dark freaking you out. Over the past days we had another guest rhapsodising about the atmosphere created by the starry sky, our fire bowl and the outdoor lights illuminating our new trees. Conclusion: it's all a matter of opinion. You've detailed our location in your review and it has been on the home page of our website for quite some time. So travellers should be in no doubt that we're located about four minutes' drive from the main streets of Great Barrington and Stockbridge. We're not 'in town' (read, 'on a strip'), but then if we were, we wouldn't enjoy the night-time quiet and beautiful up-close view of the mountain.

Richard did once briefly consider dressing in a bear suit, but it was more for the purpose of outdoor advertising rather than to chase guests around the property. The Berkshires has negligible crime compared to urban places, and most of our friends locally don't even lock their houses when they go out. Nor are there reports in the area of loony-killer-bearmen. Phew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Briarcliff while in the Berkshires for our 20th wedding anniversary. We adored our visit to Tanglewood, enjoyed the museums, and had a lovely 40 mile bicycle ride. What made our trip outstanding, though, was our lodging at the Briarcliff. This adorable retro motel has been lovingly, and stylishly, remodeled by Clare and Richard. This tireless duo have injected tons of modern charm and convenience in to the place. Our room was large, with a very comfortable King bed and seating. Silly to mention, but we had plenty of clothes hangers in our wardrobe area (the usual two hangers provided at most places is a pet peeve of mine). The room and bath were impeccably clean and bright, with updated fixtures and quality bedding/linens. Breakfast is included, and we both enjoyed our leisurely homemade breakfast (scones, muffins, hard boiled eggs, granola, and local yogurt & coffee) in the "great" room. Clare and Richard, knowing that we enjoy good wine and great food, recommended several terrific, off-the-beaten-path restaurants. As if to provide a grand finale to our trip, they turned on the gas-flame Fire Bowl so that we could spend a perfect fall night under the stars--no bugs, no smoke! We give the Briarcliff our most hearty recommendation and we look forward to visiting with Clare and Richard again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
6.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,021 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#5 of 10 in Great Barrington
677 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
451 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Property: Briarcliff Motel
Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1296
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st-century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing