We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I decided to take a road trip and ended a place to stay in Great Barrington. We stayed 2 nights and had a great stay. Claire and Richard were awesome and accommodated all of our needs. Super star service and guest experience at the top of their list. Very helpful.

Scones,granola and coffee were a great way to start the morning. They also made suggestions on where to eat and what to see.

Highly suggest if you need accommodations in the area. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ModernTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Generally speaking, we really liked this place. it allows dogs (for a fee), accommodates babies (which is always appreciated), has an awesome fire pit, includes a delicious breakfast, draws a really nice clientele, and is in a great location. It has a really lovely lobby area which is nice for chatting to other guests and asking questions of the owners (who know the area well and can provide great tips). At the same time, you don't feel as though you're forced to socialize, and the rooms are quite quiet and private. I think the concept is also really great: take an old and outdated motel, update it in a hip and fresh way, and then charge fairly reasonable rates. As I said, generally, we really enjoyed our stay here. There are a few downsides, though. I imagine the owners were on a budget when they renovated/redecorated, and a few corners were cut int he process. The bath linens are atrocious (thin, rough, tiny). Some of the furnishings are sort of flimsy. The blinds fall off the windows easily. The bed linens were eh. A solid 4/5. And definitely way more stylish and fun than most places in the Berkshires.

Room Tip: The rooms with only one bed are much more spacious (obviously). Our double was quite cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Don't be fooled by the name - this is not a typical motel. The building is a quintessentially American 1950s style motel, just the kind you hope to find on a trip to the States, but inside it is comfortable and stylish, with the feel of a B&B. The breakfasts are delicious, using fresh local seasonal produce. The owners, Richard and Clare, are incredibly welcoming and happy to share their great local knowledge and suggest places to visit and local restaurants etc. They helpfully provided a travel cot and high chair for our 18 month old daughter - it's surprisingly difficult to find nice places to stay that will accommodate small children in New England and his was a real gem, but would have been a great place to stay as a couple too. We stayed for two nights and wished we could spend more time both at the Briarcliff Motel and in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here one night on a month-long road trip in the Canadian Maritimes and New England. After so many different accommodations, it's easy to recognize a really special spot. The Briarcliff is ideally situated to explore the Berkshires and there is even trail access into the woods directly accross the street. The rooms are clean, spacious, and have thoughtful items like a fold- down desk and lots of outlets. There are comfy chairs, great reading lights (often a rarity in such places), and a really really comfy bed. I can't say too much about the staff/owners. Everyone was extremely helpful: from the man who checked us in and provided lots of info on trails and local sites; the folks at breakfast that were constantly refreshing the buffet with fresh coffee, yummy warm scones, etc; to the owners who mailed me an expensive item I accidentally left in the room. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. This is one terrific motel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Briarcliff was the first stop on our a coast to coast road trip. Honestly we couldn't have asked for a better start. Great rooms, wonderful breakfast and very nice surroundings. Had some highly interesting conversations with the hosts. Truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Briarcliff is a gem of a motel in the beautiful Berkshires!! Arranging our stay was very easy, and as we were bringing our two dogs, a lucky find as pet-friendly is sometimes hard to find. Rooms are beautifully simple and very cozy. The breakfast is AMAZING, fresh baked scones, organic yogurt, homemade granola, apple cider and more. Richard and Clare are great hosts and so helpful. Highly recommend the Briarcliff and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeh1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location was great. And proprietors were super helpful, printing out route maps and go giving advice. The baked goods, eggs, and fixins for breakfast were also tasty and plentiful. But for the price, the room was a bit bare and basic. That being said, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
6.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
388 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
516 reviews
7 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1296
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range: £61 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st-century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing