We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality with a Smile”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality with a Smile”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My family and I were on a recent road trip through New England to check out the Fall Foliage and stumbled upon The Briarcliff Motel. This renovated motel was quite charming from the moment you drive in to the rooms. Claire and Richard were extremely helpful offering up recommendations while we were in Great Barrington even as we continued on with our trip. Loved the morning breakfast especially being that it was all locally sourced.

I would highly recommend the next time you are in the area and are looking for a unique place with tons of charming character to stay at the Briarcliff Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEnriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    84
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
132
217
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This old-fashioned strip motel from the 40s or 50s is in the process of being refurbished and modernized, but it isn’t there yet. All the rooms are identical and priced the same, but they are small and lacking in charm and amenities. Bathrooms are clean but small with showers, not tubs. Glass panels substitute for shower curtains, perhaps to stave off the memories of the Bates Motel in Hitchcock’s “Psycho.” Breakfast in the office was spare but adequate with warm muffins or scones available each day. Staff/owners were friendly and helpful and are upgrading the décor and plantings with taste, but the rooms will remain small.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_J_F_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBriar, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
I'm going to sound like a nerd, but as it happens we recently went through and measured all rooms again. The guest rooms of our 1960 motor lodge (which ISN'T on a strip), are 266 sq ft (or more). Before even seeing this place for the first time we consulted an architect who worked on big box hotels around here, and he told us that 250 sq ft total was about average for a hotel room. We're not saying that they're huge, and we appreciate that size is relative, but this guest wasn't even disproportionately large. I mean, we've had Dutch people in our rooms. And they're really tall.

We like simplicity, and don't want to impose a lot of knick knacks on our guests. And anyway, if you think the rooms are too small, why would we put more stuff in them? Our rooms contain a place to lie down and sleep, a place to sit, a place to hang stuff and fold it away, a machine that keeps food and drink cold and various lamps that will guide you in the dark, should you activate them. Even the ones with two double beds in them have enough space to lie on the floor and do your stretching exercises. We checked that, because it's the first thing Richard looks for in a hotel room. Some have desks, which we've added if you need to work or write a postcard to a loved one. What more do you really need?

We maximised the space in our bathrooms by taking out those annoying shallow tubs (which always give me the uncomfortable feeling that I'm lying in my coffin) and replacing them with oversize showers. Our breakfast consists of home-made scones, home-made muffins, home-made granola, local farm yoghurt, local farm eggs hard-boiled, fruit from the local orchard, apple cider from the local orchard (in season), locally-roasted coffee made in a French press, teas both herbal and regular, hot chocolate... I'm not sure it's fair to call it 'spare', when the typical motel breakfast still seems to be a Little Debbie and some coffee that's been brewing since 1974.

Anyway, as Abraham Lincoln remarked, you can please some of the people all of the time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I decided to take a road trip and ended a place to stay in Great Barrington. We stayed 2 nights and had a great stay. Claire and Richard were awesome and accommodated all of our needs. Super star service and guest experience at the top of their list. Very helpful.

Scones,granola and coffee were a great way to start the morning. They also made suggestions on where to eat and what to see.

Highly suggest if you need accommodations in the area. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModernTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, CT
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Generally speaking, we really liked this place. it allows dogs (for a fee), accommodates babies (which is always appreciated), has an awesome fire pit, includes a delicious breakfast, draws a really nice clientele, and is in a great location. It has a really lovely lobby area which is nice for chatting to other guests and asking questions of the owners (who know the area well and can provide great tips). At the same time, you don't feel as though you're forced to socialize, and the rooms are quite quiet and private. I think the concept is also really great: take an old and outdated motel, update it in a hip and fresh way, and then charge fairly reasonable rates. As I said, generally, we really enjoyed our stay here. There are a few downsides, though. I imagine the owners were on a budget when they renovated/redecorated, and a few corners were cut int he process. The bath linens are atrocious (thin, rough, tiny). Some of the furnishings are sort of flimsy. The blinds fall off the windows easily. The bed linens were eh. A solid 4/5. And definitely way more stylish and fun than most places in the Berkshires.

Room Tip: The rooms with only one bed are much more spacious (obviously). Our double was quite cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Don't be fooled by the name - this is not a typical motel. The building is a quintessentially American 1950s style motel, just the kind you hope to find on a trip to the States, but inside it is comfortable and stylish, with the feel of a B&B. The breakfasts are delicious, using fresh local seasonal produce. The owners, Richard and Clare, are incredibly welcoming and happy to share their great local knowledge and suggest places to visit and local restaurants etc. They helpfully provided a travel cot and high chair for our 18 month old daughter - it's surprisingly difficult to find nice places to stay that will accommodate small children in New England and his was a real gem, but would have been a great place to stay as a couple too. We stayed for two nights and wished we could spend more time both at the Briarcliff Motel and in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here one night on a month-long road trip in the Canadian Maritimes and New England. After so many different accommodations, it's easy to recognize a really special spot. The Briarcliff is ideally situated to explore the Berkshires and there is even trail access into the woods directly accross the street. The rooms are clean, spacious, and have thoughtful items like a fold- down desk and lots of outlets. There are comfy chairs, great reading lights (often a rarity in such places), and a really really comfy bed. I can't say too much about the staff/owners. Everyone was extremely helpful: from the man who checked us in and provided lots of info on trails and local sites; the folks at breakfast that were constantly refreshing the buffet with fresh coffee, yummy warm scones, etc; to the owners who mailed me an expensive item I accidentally left in the room. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. This is one terrific motel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Briarcliff was the first stop on our a coast to coast road trip. Honestly we couldn't have asked for a better start. Great rooms, wonderful breakfast and very nice surroundings. Had some highly interesting conversations with the hosts. Truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
6.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,007 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
431 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
662 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Property: Briarcliff Motel
Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1296
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing