We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Madbury, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

So glad we stayed here. Welcoming, very comfortable bed, fun, very clean, spacious rooms, quiet, great breakfast. Convenient to everything. Recommend hightly! It was also great to have adjoining rooms with our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    84
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
132
217
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Travelled in New England for three weeks mostly in hotels. The Briarcliff was a welcome break offering great value motel accommodation. Really nice breakfast. Spacious and comfortable room. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The Briarcliff was a perfect respite after a 10 hour drive from VA en route to Maine!

We enjoyed a picnic (Manhattan Pizza delivered) by the firepit with our pups, while our 3 year old was able to run and play. The firepit and beautifully landscaped front lawn (loved the lit trees!) was such a nice touch.

The staff was warm and welcoming. Jeffrey was super sweet with our son and Samantha was very helpful with reservations. Breakfast was delicious and a nice break from "road food".

We look forward to making this an annual stop. Next time we look forward to arriving with time to explore the local restaurants and will be sure to make time to hike Monument Mountain, located directly in front of the motel.

Many thanks to the whole Briarcliff Crew for a lovely stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CHStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Such nice folks who own the place - and they helped us out with a complicated scheduling bind we were in (and we are very grateful!). Funky details in the rooms, very comfortable beds, quiet, amazing use of space. SUPER clean!! Surprised to have a nice-sized fridge in our room. And a lovely breakfast in the awesome common area. Great price in an otherwise very expensive area. Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sablear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Did a girlfriends weekend in western Mass. How lucky we were to find the Briarcliff! Cool and charming all in one. Great job of making a vintage motel really hip! Breakfast was lovely, innkeepers divine. Rooms really nicely updated and a luscious fire pit too! Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank homegrowngreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yardley, pa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My girlfriend and I had to visit the area for reasons of visiting a local medical facility for my son. Atlhough it was a difficult trip emotionally, the owners made us feel very welcome and offered great local tips. The decor is so great, and the owner so accommodating in sharing her decorating and shopping tips. The firepit is the best--sitting around the pit when the sun goes down with complete privacy. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a visit to the areas of great barrington, stockbridge or lenox.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinpfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After spending the past 10 summers in Stockbridge I decided to switch to the Briarcliff after driving by for the past two years. We were not disappointed. Clean comfortable rooms and Claire & Richard are the best hosts in the Berkshires. Located right on Route 7 accross from Monument Mountain State Park the Briarcliffe is centrally located between Great Barrington, Stockbridge and Lenox and Pittsfield are just a short drive away. The rooms are large, the beds are fantastic and there is a great fire pit out front to enjoy during the evenings all in all a nice place to stay. Even nicer is the price point..a great value. Now if I only could get Richard's granola receipe and Claire's receipe for her fantastic cheese/scallion scones...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
6.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,007 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
431 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
663 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Property: Briarcliff Motel
Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1296
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing