We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TWO OLDER LADY A T HIKERS VERY PLEASED WITH ROOM AND SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monument Mountain Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
springfield, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TWO OLDER LADY A T HIKERS VERY PLEASED WITH ROOM AND SERVICE”
Reviewed 24 August 2006

My hiking partner and I were at the Monument Mountain Motel for about a week in July, '06 during the time we were day hiking on the Appalachian Trail. The room was very nice, and it was great having a refrigerator.
Being hikers, we were often up and out too early for morning coffee/tea/hot chocolate from the lobby, but we enjoyed it in the evening.

Thanks, Jeff, for the shuttle on one day.

Thank you Chrystal for mailing my hiking toe pads(which I left in the room) to the motel in Dalton, after we left the Monument Mountain Motel. Would return again if and when the occasion occurs.

  • Liked — convenient for shuttling to and from trail, and love parking at the room door.
  • Disliked — office not open earlier
  • Tips/Secrets — Is a nice and clean place. Is a great convenience to park outside the room door
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ilphyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    92
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
69
109
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2006

This was the most pleasurable stay I have ever had in the Berkshires! I have stayed in the area numerous times, and this is by far the best lodging we have ever had. The owners and staff were so hospitable and the place was extremely clean and updated. I found our vacation lodging for years to come.

  • Liked — The room, staff, hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kidcdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2006

This small motel just north of the quaint town of Great Barrington has some of the cleanest rooms with lovely decor that we've seen in the area for the price. The showers boast an oversized shower rod that gives you plenty of space and the tiles are sparkling. The management are very friendly and gave us a wonderful tip on a hiking spot just a few miles away.

Helpful?
2 Thank VanderZyppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2006

From their website to the actual motel - it is not a pleasant transition! The rooms were SMALL and right on the highway - traffic sounds like it is going to come right into the room! The "cleaners" knew no English and wouldn't give us additional towels or a simple water cup we kept having to go to the front! We waited at check in for a woman who was going between the back and the front with a baby (crying) in her arms. Very unprofessional and not a come again feeling, attuitude was high to say the least. This woman should go to hospitality school OR get a babysitter, then again maybe she was the sitter!
We checked out the Comfort Inn right behind the motel and next time we are staying there.
Unhappy Customers

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TLewisGeneralManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2004

My family and I booked the Monument Mountain Motel for one night last week. After reading several negative reviews on this site, we were concerned. But we need not have been. Although the motel is an older property, we were pleasantly surprised by Monument Mountain. All three staff members with whom we interacted were pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean, spacious, cheerful, and comfortable. The bed linens and towels were of very good quality. We had both cross-ventilation and air-conditioning. Two unexpected additions were a second queen-size bed for our teenage son (We had requested a cot.) and a small refrigerator where we chilled soft drinks and juice.

Helpful?
5 Thank jayMASSUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 September 2004

My family and I reserved several rooms here for May-June 2004. We then read a very bad review of this place and tried to cancel more than one week ahead of our stay. The management kept nearly $1000 in deposit, even though it appeared that they had actually rented out the rooms we had reserved! When we arrived in Great Barrington we checked out the place. The rooms are small, not very clean and the pool was awful. However the worst of all was the service. The manager was arrogant and rude and the rest of the staff was not much of an improvement. Go elsewhere!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 August 2004

My husband and I spent one night here and found the room to be small but clean. The bathroom contained only a shower stall, no bath, and was a bit cramped. We were put in the room closest to the road, and the road noise kept me up. Other rooms set further back may have less road noise. This motel is okay for a night or two if you don't plan to spend much time in the room.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.1 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
178 reviews
9.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monument Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monument Mountain Motel

Property: Monument Mountain Motel
Address: 247 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monument Mountain Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monument Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monument Mountain Hotel Great Barrington
Monument Mountain Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing