We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn and Innkeepers with character, would certainly return”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thornewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thornewood Inn
Albany, New York
1 review
“Inn and Innkeepers with character, would certainly return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Our first time staying in the Great Barrington area, although we live not far away in Albany. As it was a few days before Xmas, and getting ready to snow, the Inn was nearly empty. We received prompt, helpful, courteous service. We found the room quaint and comfortable, with an efficient gas fireplace to keep things warm--and romantic--for our two night stay. We enjoyed the meal downstairs the first night, especially the accompanying jazz music. The waiter was helpful and efficient, and the food quite tasty. In the morning, after a hearty breakfast, David gave us wonderful advice of a seaside town to visit on the far-eastern coast of Massachusetts (we had our reasons to see the sea..). We had a glorious day, despite the snow flurries, and wind and rain patches along the way...We arrived back to the Inn fairly late and were pleasantly greeted by the Innkeepers. The restaurant was filled with guests, who had come to celebrate family transitions. The atmosphere was lovely.
A white snowy landscape greeted us the next morning, and we enjoyed homemade pancakes and fresh fruit for our breakfast. For us, it was the uninhibited conversations with our hosts, intertwined with life stories and how the area around the Inn has evolved over time, which made our stay memorable. It is certainly a lovely area to visit, filled with natural beauty and local charm. We will likely return to try one of the ski areas nearby. Overall a stay we shall remember fondly for many years to come.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samNY99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    45
    7
    13
    9
See reviews for
27
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Having stayed in the hotel chains in Great Barrington in the past, I wanted to try a B&B for this Christmas's visit to the area. The hosts were more than gracious and accommodating, setting up coffee every morning for our early rising. The furnishings and decor were perfectly New England "antique" and felt completely like home. The building is beautiful, and we so enjoyed rambling from room to room to see what surprises awaited us around each corner. The fresh homemade food was outstanding, and the the location is central to the most popular of the Berkshire attractions. I will definitely stay here from now on when I visit the Berkshires and recommend this Inn to everyone looking for a warm comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Any as suitable for your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

My family and I came from Denmark and stayed at the Thornewood Inn during a nice break away from New York. The purpose was driving around in the mountains, meeting farmers and producers of local food and a bit of walking in the mountains. The location of Thornewood in was perfect and the stay a very comfortable and enormously welcoming experience. Rooms where clean, beds excellent and the owners very helpful with suggestions and ideas for our onwards travel. The stay offered Great value, lots of local knowledge and affection, very nice people indeed. PLUS – the pancakes where 100% homemade.
Many regards to these people

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

A classic New England Inn with comfortable sitting areas. Our host, David, was friendly, service oriented, and a treasure trove of advice for the area. Our room was generous in size and very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts which were included in the price - scrambled eggs and bacon with wonderful cinnamon muffins one morning and pancakes from scratch the next. A delightful way to start the day. The inn is very convenient to hiking trails and other activities in the area. Will definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJJE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I would gladly go back to this beautiful Inn. We were accomodated in every way possible: including a convenient room by the driveway for us and our well-behaved dogs. Although we didn't eat dinner, the breakfast was perfect. Neil, the very cool helper, should definitely buy the place - when/if the time comes - so that we can hang with him again. Great Barrington is lucky to have the Thormewood Inn. A walk to the brewery!

Room Tip: OK- the rooms in the main house are upscale. If you want to save a couple of bucks stay in the carr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We came up for a wedding in nearby Hillsdale, NY and booked a room at Thornewood as it offered the best deal and allowed for dogs to stay. I didn't even really look at the amenities available bc really, who hangs out at their hotel? It's a place to sleep, keep your bag and grab a shower. Otherwise, you're out and about enjoying nature, museums, the brew pub down the street, etc.

As it turned out though, we did hang out at the hotel! Enjoying the warm sunshine near the pool - diving in and playing a little bit when we got too hot - sitting and reading in the garden, playing fetch with the dogs in the large yard/field in front of the hotel, all things I didn't even think about while booking was a huge part of what made our stay wonderful.

Staff was delightful and helpful both prior to (I had to call to let them know of our late arrival) and upon our arrival. We chatted with the owners and the workers and everyone had good advice on where to spend some time and was knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was hot and varied and a great way to start the day.

Sure, it may be a little 'shabby' as others have mentioned but hot water, a soft bed, lovely grounds and pleasant staff more than make up for any aging the inn may be experiencing.

We're already planning on going back in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbensonus2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. We were only planning to be in Great Barrington one night (a Saturday night in mid-June) and therefore very much appreciated that the Thornewood didn’t require us to book a minimum two- or three-night weekend stay as do several other B&Bs in the area; this was a major selling point for us. The Inn is near the Stockbridge line and less than a 10-minute drive to downtown GB. We found the location very convenient. The bathroom was clean and the shower worked well. We had booked a room with twin beds that could be placed together to make up a king bed; we had requested the latter option when booking and arrived to find the beds placed together as requested, and this arrangement was comfortable. The A/C unit in our room worked fine. One of our floor lamps wasn’t working, but the friendly staff were attentive and immediately took care of it. The grounds were pretty and well-kept. We didn’t make use of the outdoor swimming pool but a couple of the other guests were happily lying around it. The pool appeared clean and we would have used it if we were staying longer. David Thorne, the owner, was gracious and welcoming; he also contributed (on bass guitar and vocals) to the evening’s very mellow and pleasing entertainment along with a jazz pianist downstairs in the restaurant and bar area. We did not eat at the restaurant (having come to Great Barrington for an event that took place during dinnertime) but we enjoyed a slice of Terry’s delicious homemade blueberry pie later in the evening. Breakfast was also very good the next morning. In terms of negatives, there were very few: there is some highway traffic noise, but we found it negligible, especially inside the house. The lighting throughout the house (including in our room) was a bit dim, and we’d suggest maybe steering clear of the antiques sales/showroom until they repair the water damage to the ceiling. Overall, however, our experience was positive and pleasant—we would stay there again and we’d recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
4.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#6 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornewood Inn

Property: Thornewood Inn
Address: 453 Stockbridge Road, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thornewood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thornewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornewood Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing