We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointing and Depressing”
Review of Thornewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thornewood Inn
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing and Depressing”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Have to agree with the other posters who had a less than stellar experience at the Thornewood. The Inn is tired, musty, and depressing. We stayed here for two nights in July 2012 and found it to be incredibly lacking. We arrived on a Friday evening and weren't greeted. Had to hunt around to find someone to check us in - almost begrudgingly. No information was offered on the Inn or the area. The room was extremely small, the decor a hodge-podge of castoff furnitures. The chair was miniature as was most else.

The path in the front of the Inn is overgrown and the rocks and stepping stones so uneven I fell - pretty badly - bringing in our luggage on arrival. My husband went to find someone for first aid supplies. We received one sad bandage and absolutely no concern.

In the two days we were there no one - I mean really no one - paid us any mind whatsoever, They didn't ask if I was okay, if our stay was okay or if we needed anything.

This was a never again for us and despite the low price, I simply can't recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MindyG10543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    45
    7
    13
    9
See reviews for
27
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rexford, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I took a trip to Great Barrington with my husband for our wedding anniversary and the area was nice. Many things to do including snowboarding at Ski Butternut. We stayed in the lady troy room and it had a unique and cozy feel to it. The four post bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The lady and gentleman who own the inn were very nice and made you feel welcomed as soon as you came inside. Breakfast was made by the lady of the house and the pancakes were lovely and fluffy. We ate in a beautiful sun room and they cleared our dirty dishes in a timely manner.
We had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

we just got back from a two night stay at Thornewood Inn. This was our second time there. We love it there. My room was enormous myself and two teenage kids were very comfortable in the room. We ate dinner at the Thornewood Inn and it was delicious and my son had home made pasta that was great while i had a delicious fish. Food was fresh and well presented. Breakfast was home made pancakes and yogurt both were great!! We recommend with no hesitation.

Room Tip: loved the garden 2 room for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 715caroleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Our first time staying in the Great Barrington area, although we live not far away in Albany. As it was a few days before Xmas, and getting ready to snow, the Inn was nearly empty. We received prompt, helpful, courteous service. We found the room quaint and comfortable, with an efficient gas fireplace to keep things warm--and romantic--for our two night stay. We enjoyed the meal downstairs the first night, especially the accompanying jazz music. The waiter was helpful and efficient, and the food quite tasty. In the morning, after a hearty breakfast, David gave us wonderful advice of a seaside town to visit on the far-eastern coast of Massachusetts (we had our reasons to see the sea..). We had a glorious day, despite the snow flurries, and wind and rain patches along the way...We arrived back to the Inn fairly late and were pleasantly greeted by the Innkeepers. The restaurant was filled with guests, who had come to celebrate family transitions. The atmosphere was lovely.
A white snowy landscape greeted us the next morning, and we enjoyed homemade pancakes and fresh fruit for our breakfast. For us, it was the uninhibited conversations with our hosts, intertwined with life stories and how the area around the Inn has evolved over time, which made our stay memorable. It is certainly a lovely area to visit, filled with natural beauty and local charm. We will likely return to try one of the ski areas nearby. Overall a stay we shall remember fondly for many years to come.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samNY99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Having stayed in the hotel chains in Great Barrington in the past, I wanted to try a B&B for this Christmas's visit to the area. The hosts were more than gracious and accommodating, setting up coffee every morning for our early rising. The furnishings and decor were perfectly New England "antique" and felt completely like home. The building is beautiful, and we so enjoyed rambling from room to room to see what surprises awaited us around each corner. The fresh homemade food was outstanding, and the the location is central to the most popular of the Berkshire attractions. I will definitely stay here from now on when I visit the Berkshires and recommend this Inn to everyone looking for a warm comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Any as suitable for your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My family and I came from Denmark and stayed at the Thornewood Inn during a nice break away from New York. The purpose was driving around in the mountains, meeting farmers and producers of local food and a bit of walking in the mountains. The location of Thornewood in was perfect and the stay a very comfortable and enormously welcoming experience. Rooms where clean, beds excellent and the owners very helpful with suggestions and ideas for our onwards travel. The stay offered Great value, lots of local knowledge and affection, very nice people indeed. PLUS – the pancakes where 100% homemade.
Many regards to these people

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A classic New England Inn with comfortable sitting areas. Our host, David, was friendly, service oriented, and a treasure trove of advice for the area. Our room was generous in size and very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts which were included in the price - scrambled eggs and bacon with wonderful cinnamon muffins one morning and pancakes from scratch the next. A delightful way to start the day. The inn is very convenient to hiking trails and other activities in the area. Will definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJJE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
4.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#6 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornewood Inn

Property: Thornewood Inn
Address: 453 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thornewood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Thornewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornewood Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing