We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a Change”
Review of Thornewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thornewood Inn
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have stayed at the Thornewood, this being our fourth visit, but unless there are some changes, significant renovations / update, management attitude this will be our last stay. The Thornewood is convenient to Great Barrington's restaurants and shops and provides an escape from the more hectic Lenox and Sturbridge scene yet is an easy drive to Tanglewood and the other attractions of the Berkshire. But, I'd have to echo other observations of other reviewers - lack of attention to details that a more attuned management would remedy - cleanliness, shower conditions and poor water pressure, service that is lacking. The grounds are pretty but undoubtedly will suffer as other areas of the property evidence from poor oversight. We had dined at the Point during our prior stays and found the food more than satisfactory but a poorly prepared and monitored breakfast convinced us to seek other dining options for this stay. At the current price point, it is not worth staying at the Thornewood.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeedSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornewood, Owner at Thornewood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Since they are repeat guests, that tells me they enjoyed returning to our inn, but felt that this time something was not as expected. We strive to keep up with the expectations, and will continue to do so. We hope this guest will give us another opportunity to have them experience the Inn as we would want them to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

The forward facing rooms face the highway and could be noisy so we took a back facing room that faced the mts. The room at first glance was fine, but after another look..1)the bed felt like it had an old mattress.2)the picture on the wall was falling down, had an old broken frame with bugs on the mat3)the window mount A/C had a lot of black mold growing in outward blowing vents 4)bathroom had no working fan (with extremely dusty vents). In the morning we couldn't breathe. Floor vents in room were rusted, bathroom fixtures, floor and caulking were dated. Corners were all dirty. Paint job was contemporary but no attention to detail. The bed was high and could have used a step stool. Breakfast was minimal. OJ tasted like it was from a box.We stay in a lot of B&B's.This was our 4th this month. For the price it is inadequate.

Room Tip: face the back of the house. check out the room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornewood, Owner at Thornewood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We are very sorry that our guest did not enjoy their stay. We do appreciate any comments by the guest while they are here with us to be able to make their stay more pleasant, however if they stay and do not tell us that they need something, we have no opportunity to change their experience. Upon reviewing the room, I found that , as we do have antique and original artwork, that the picture had fallen, inside the frame, exposing part of the glass, the 1 strip of caulk along the tub had cracked from the shower curtain not being put inside the tub when used, the fan was not working and we have corrected all of these issues. The bed I find ironic, since more people ask about that mattress than any other in the inn, because they find it so comfortable. The OJ we use is Florida's Natural. I don't know of an inn that squeeze's oranges each morning, unless, perhaps they live on an orange grove.We strive to make our guests comfortable and if there is any issue, we do appreciate the chance to oblige while the guest is staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Kid-Friendly: We stayed in the Garden Suite. It had two separate rooms (one for the kids, one for us), which was perfect. Breakfast had something for everyone. Pool was great for the kids.

Classy: Nice decor and furniture. Owners were present/helpful, but not annoyingly omnipresent like you get in some inns. Bar has a decent selection, and stays open until 10:30pm.

Location: 3 miles from Great Barrington main drag, 1.5 miles from the Monument Mtn hike, ~3 miles from great Blueberry picking, ~20 minutes to Tanglewood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is a truly terrific place to stay. It's got B&B service and friendliness, but the house is big enough that you don't feel you are sitting in the hosts' living room all the time. There is a very very high quality restaurant on site (one of the best in this part of Mass) and the night we were there the host was playing jazz with a friend while we ate and admired the views over the hills and the sunset. It's close to great hiking around Mount Washington and this area of the State is quite alternative, so there's lots to do. Overall, we cannot speak highly enough of this palce and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The rooms are bigger than they look in the photos! Take Primrose-- love the reading nook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catchaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Furst the good. We made a reservation at the very last minute and they were kind enough to let our large dog stay there. The grounds are really pretty with mountains in the background and flowers in bloom. Someone reviewed them and said something about the path to the house being overgrown and someone else said no one was available to help them. I don't understand as the yard and path seemed well cared for to me. Not only that but the owners were very attentive and even gave us a ride to the airport as we had no car. We ate dinner there which was excellent.(we travel a lot and are picky) Everything was very fresh. Restaurant is pretty with a view of the mountains. Watched the sunset.
Romantic. I really like the breakfast as they had healthy options. Fresh fruit salad and hard boiled eggs. My partner had the home made pancakes. Also good.
The negatives. If you are used to or want a chain hotel experience with flat screen tvs, lots of cable channels and sparkling cleanliness this is not for you. The tv was old fashioned and small, the room a little musty (an old house with antiques to be expected) but overall tidy. Fine for us. The one suggestion I have is to invest in better beds and bedspreads. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Have to agree with the other posters who had a less than stellar experience at the Thornewood. The Inn is tired, musty, and depressing. We stayed here for two nights in July 2012 and found it to be incredibly lacking. We arrived on a Friday evening and weren't greeted. Had to hunt around to find someone to check us in - almost begrudgingly. No information was offered on the Inn or the area. The room was extremely small, the decor a hodge-podge of castoff furnitures. The chair was miniature as was most else.

The path in the front of the Inn is overgrown and the rocks and stepping stones so uneven I fell - pretty badly - bringing in our luggage on arrival. My husband went to find someone for first aid supplies. We received one sad bandage and absolutely no concern.

In the two days we were there no one - I mean really no one - paid us any mind whatsoever, They didn't ask if I was okay, if our stay was okay or if we needed anything.

This was a never again for us and despite the low price, I simply can't recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MindyG10543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I took a trip to Great Barrington with my husband for our wedding anniversary and the area was nice. Many things to do including snowboarding at Ski Butternut. We stayed in the lady troy room and it had a unique and cozy feel to it. The four post bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The lady and gentleman who own the inn were very nice and made you feel welcomed as soon as you came inside. Breakfast was made by the lady of the house and the pancakes were lovely and fluffy. We ate in a beautiful sun room and they cleared our dirty dishes in a timely manner.
We had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
4.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,053 reviews
8.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
307 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
233 reviews
5.2 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornewood Inn

Address: 453 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range: £142 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thornewood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thornewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornewood Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing