We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Homey Inn”
Review of Thornewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thornewood Inn
Level Contributor
239 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice Homey Inn”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were greeted warmly by Morgan who is the granddaughter of the Innkeepers.

Terry served us bedtime cocktails in the cozy bar. Great selection of Scotch and Irish Whiskeys.

Slept well in the "Lady Morgan" room and enjoyed our made to order hot breakfast.

Learned that pets are accepted without additional charge in the carriage units, how nice is that?

I would suggest booking directly with the Inn by phone or on THEIR website to get best arrangements.

Room Tip: While we stayed on the road side of the Inn, we were not bothered by traffic noise at night, as traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    45
    7
    13
    9
See reviews for
27
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We ended up overpaying for this place because I used booking.com and didn't look at all the prices available! So $225 a night was too expensive, as opposed to the $185 I found out too late was offered elsewhere! The decor could definitely use a face-lift , as everything looked a bit threadbare, and our bathroom was tiny. The pillows were too soft, but, to be fair, I didn't think to ask for firmer ones. Overall, we had a nice stay here, as the staff members are very solicitous and friendly. The buffet breakfast, which comes at no extra cost, is not gourmet but perfectly satisfying. There was bacon and pancakes one morning, and sausages and eggs the next, and there also were muffins, breads for toasting, yogurt, cereal, and juices, coffee, and tea. We did not try eating dinner here, but it was nice to hear piano music coming up from the dining area when we would turn in early!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadameCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We - a family of four - stayed four nights at the Thornewood Inn while attending a wedding in Stockbridge mid October. We stayed in the Garden Suite #2 - large and sunny, with garden views and ideal for a family. Room had one very comfy king size bed and two twin beds for the kids in a separate room. Unfortunately the pool was closed for the season, but the kids enjoyed the jacuzzi in the bathroom. The owner couple were very kind and helpful. Tasty homemade breakfast. Nice, sunny garden. Very close to Great Barrington with lots of nice restaurants shops and to Stockbridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyfromCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had a wonderful experience with the Thornewood Inn and innkeepers David and Terry. They hosted a family gathering for us and were nothing but conscientious. The catered dinner was homemade and overall they provided a comfortable, beautiful atmosphere. We all enjoyed dancing to the band they recommended. The location is perfect for heading into Great Barrington or up to Stockbridge or Lenox, we found it central and quiet at the same time. David and Terry have created a truly homey country B&B. The furnishings aren't cutting edge, super hip, but that didn't matter to us, it was the feeling of the place, the quality of the food, and the extremely comfortable beds. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Let me start by saying the innkeeper Terry is a very nice lady. She upgraded us to a king room and gave us a pot of tea and coffee to help tired travelers.The B&B is charming and rustic. The price could be definately be more competitive and the breakfast spread could do with more variety like eggs. Also when we booked the room we could only find one availability but we realized that more rooms were available. Perhaps the innkeeper can have better access online so travelers can find vacancy. Overall I enjoyed our stay at this B&B. I think for those that prefer more facilities a chain hotel might be a better option. I recommend this B&B

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Thornewood Inn for two nights in early August while we attended a wedding of a relative. We stayed on the second floor of the main house. The room with taxes was $250 per night. Great Barrington is a very popular destination in the Northeast (think Tanglewood) and prices tend to be high during their season which is summer and fall. Thornewood is a rather dark and dreary B&B. The upholstered chairs in our room had worn though to the stuffing in the arms. Rugs looked like they had seen a better day. The bed was comfortable, the nook with pillows under the window was very nice as my wife curled up there to read when we were in the room. It was a little small for me (6"1"). There was a small refrigerator in the closet which kept things reasonable cool. The shower and toilet were in a private bathroom but the sink and mirror were outside in the main room. Of course that is simply the artifact of an old historic building. The place had an overall damp feel to it. To be fair it was pretty humid in the northeast this summer. The breakfast was a buffet with limited selections and the quality barely satisfactory. The swimming pool area was so infested by mosquitoes when we tried to sit there we were immediately swarmed and had to move to our room. I mentioned this to the manager and he said "Yep, it is bad out there." We were advised to sit out there if we wished to consume our own alcohol. The saving grace was a good location and off road parking.

Basically this was an okay place to stay but not for the price. There must be other hotels and B&B's that are a better value. It is in need of some repair and upgrades. There are ways of dealing with mosquitoes that don't require spraying. I know they are a problem but it was the indifference to our complaint that really rubbed me the wrong way. It is the location that allows Thornewood to charge these prices for this somewhat tattered B&B. Overall this is a mediocre B&B in a good location but it is not a good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMorristown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
180 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have stayed at the Thornewood, this being our fourth visit, but unless there are some changes, significant renovations / update, management attitude this will be our last stay. The Thornewood is convenient to Great Barrington's restaurants and shops and provides an escape from the more hectic Lenox and Sturbridge scene yet is an easy drive to Tanglewood and the other attractions of the Berkshire. But, I'd have to echo other observations of other reviewers - lack of attention to details that a more attuned management would remedy - cleanliness, shower conditions and poor water pressure, service that is lacking. The grounds are pretty but undoubtedly will suffer as other areas of the property evidence from poor oversight. We had dined at the Point during our prior stays and found the food more than satisfactory but a poorly prepared and monitored breakfast convinced us to seek other dining options for this stay. At the current price point, it is not worth staying at the Thornewood.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeedSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornewood, Owner at Thornewood Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Since they are repeat guests, that tells me they enjoyed returning to our inn, but felt that this time something was not as expected. We strive to keep up with the expectations, and will continue to do so. We hope this guest will give us another opportunity to have them experience the Inn as we would want them to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
4.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#6 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornewood Inn

Property: Thornewood Inn
Address: 453 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thornewood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thornewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornewood Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing