We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B&B!”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We (a couple and 10 year old) stayed for two nights at the Wainwright Inn and had a wonderful time. Marja and Robert are amazing hosts - they truly love what they do and it shows. The Inn itself is beautiful - the historic details and feel is authentic and we felt very much at home. The breakfast by Marja was amazing - beautifully presented in the sunny welcoming dining area and delicious. The extra touches made a big difference. Robert was also very warm and accommodating - we had interesting discussions at breakfast and before going out to dinner and know that baecause they are well-traveled they know what is important to guests. The rooms are comfortable, clean and welcoming. We will be recommending the Wainwright Inn to all of our friends and family and are looking forward to coming back to see Robert and Marja.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank synapseNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed two nights in February during the blizzard of 2013. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Robert and Marja were extremely hospitable and gave us many suggestion of where to go and where to eat. Easy drive to Butternut. Very good breakfast. We frequent B&B's whenever possible and found Wainwrights an outstanding option in the Berkshires. Excellent living room with a fireplace.

Room Tip: Book a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxford01921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My wife gets five stars for arranging our stay at the Wainwright Inn. Having literally traveled around the world and over a hundred visits to Europe, I found that Marja, Robert and Daryl set the top bar for excellence of hospitality. Thanks to Daryl's excellent and generous chef's skills, I am still working off a few extra pounds. Owners Marja and Robert could not have made us feel more welcome and comfortable. Daryl's humour provided many great laughs. We look forward to returning to our home-away-from-home as soon as possible!!!

Room Tip: The Edison room on the first floor is quiet, luxurious and does not require climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent two nights at this pleasant B & B. We were warmly greeted by the innkeeper who provided lots of local information. Breakfasts were excellent and we were always offered more to eat! It's only a five minute walk from the centre of Great Barrington with its restaurants and shops. A perfect location for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We have stayed at the Wainwright Inn for the past six Labor Day Weekends, and it is truly a visit to see old friends. Robert & Marja are excellent hosts, and think of all of the little things one might need. Daryl has cooked all over the world, and we as guests are so lucky to be sampling his delicious breakfasts! He even shares cooking tips when asked. The entertainment value of our stay is tremendous - the time spent on the porch is always special and fun! Of course, Great Barrington offers amazing restaurant options, and we are never disappointed. Xicoh Tencatl is a special favorite, as we adore fine Mexican cuisine. Koi is a great Chinese restaurant, with a gorgeous dining room design. No matter what you wish to do, the folks at the Wainwright are happy to advise!

Room Tip: If traffic sound is a concern, you will want a room not right in the front of the house - it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed four nights at the Wainwright Inn and had a great experience. This was our third trip to Great Barrington, but our first to the inn. Marja and Robert were wonderful hosts, charming, friendly and fun, and made us feel very much at home. Darrell's breakfast each morning was delicious, a new creation each morning, beautifully presented in a charming dining area. Our room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom roomy. The inn has character and is really lovely. We were visiting family who had also traveled to Great Barrington and had rented a home in the area so this particular visit didn't lend itself to spending much time at the inn. Would love to return and take in more of the atmosphere of the place, visit a few more antique stores and attend some of the great venues in the region for music and theater. We did attend the Berkshire Playwrights Lab at the Mahaiwe (thanks to Marja's suggestion and a first for us) and loved the experience. A few of the actors had stayed at the inn, and we enjoyed their presence in the dining room and on stage. Would absolutely recommend the inn to others.

Room Tip: We liked the first floor room for the ease of getting our luggage in and out...we tend to pack heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Wainwright Inn. It caught my eye because I am a wheelchair user and their ad said they are wheelchair accessible - and indeed they are! This lovely old inn with Colonial origins is well ramped and well lit at night. The doorways are more than wide enough.
The accessible room has sufficient room to maneuver a wheelchair, manual or power. The bathroom is thoughtfully designed and very user friendly. Both the dining room and living room are spacious enough for any wheelchair. We have traveled widely here and abroad, and this accommodation ranks as high as the best we have found. Marjah and Robert, the innkeepers, are thoughtful, gracious, kind and knowledgeable. Daryl prepared yummy breakfasts. The location is easy to find and convenient to theaters, museums, Tanglewood and the like. Unfortunately, our stay was cut short by a family emergency. We will be back :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JECNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
12.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
176 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thornewood Inn
Thornewood Inn
#5 of 12 in Great Barrington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range: £100 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires are a glorious destination year round and The Wainwright Inn is the perfect place to launch your vacation. Tanglewood is just minutes away with summer concerts and picnics on the lawn. Enjoy performances by top name performers at the Berkshire Theater Festival, Shakespeare and Company, or the Barrington Stage Company. For the golfers in the family The Egremont Country Club features a challenging 18-hole golf course. A twenty-five minute drive and a small hike takes you to Bash Bish Water Falls. Visit The Berkshire Botanical Gardens and educate yourself and you children about the plants that thrive in the Berkshires. A twenty minute drive takes you to The Prime Outlets at Lee which offers great shopping at discounted prices. The Berkshires are home to nearly one hundred restaurants, including many fine dinning experiences. Canoeing, swimming, fishing, and horseback riding, are also available in the Berkshires. Take long summer walks or just a relaxing drive through the lovely countryside. Winter means skiing and crisp country air. The Inn is within minutes of downhill skiing at Catamount, Ski Butternut, Otis Ridge and Bousquet. The Berkshires also have miles of cross-country ski trails graded for all levels of ability. Spring means refreshing walks through the countryside, watching the woods turn green again. Stop into one of the many antique shops, auction houses or art galleries, most of which are open year round. Or shake off those winter doldrums with a spring weekend spent quietly rocking on our porch listening to the birds. Autumn brings flaming color to the hills, and our foliage season is packed with harvest cornucopia of activity. Fairs and seasonal events abound, and roadside stands are bursting with produce and cider. Pick your own apples at a local orchard, or hike through one of our many back roads and parks. Fall is a great time to visit Hancock Shaker Village or the nearby Norman Rockwell Museum. During the warm summer months you can swim in a nearby lake or stream. Take a hike to Bash Bish water falls and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Relax on our wrap-around porches with a cool drink, or just relax inside with the comfort of air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing